Kwame Ture: A Life of Liberation and Pan-Africanism

Dwayne Vidal
3 min readSep 8, 2023

A Scholar’s Quest for Knowledge, Equality, and Homecoming

Chapter 1: The Birth of Stokely Carmichael

My story begins in Port of Spain, Trinidad, on June 29, 1941, where I was born as Stokely Standiford Carmichael. My parents, Adolphus and Mabel Carmichael, instilled in me a deep sense of pride in my African heritage and a commitment to education.

Chapter 2: A Journey to the United States

At the age of 11, my family immigrated to the United States, settling in the Bronx, New York. This move exposed me to the racial inequalities and injustices faced by African Americans, and it ignited a passion for civil rights and social justice that would define my life.

Chapter 3: The Civil Rights Movement

As a student at Howard University, I became deeply involved in the civil rights movement. I joined the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and worked alongside prominent activists like John Lewis and Ella Baker. The struggle for racial equality and justice consumed my thoughts and actions.

Chapter 4: Freedom Summer and Mississippi

In 1964, I participated in Freedom Summer, a campaign to register Black voters in Mississippi. This experience exposed me to the harsh realities of…

--

--

Dwayne Vidal

Author, Innovator, Activist, Master Of Music Selection/Curation, Dj, Artist, Producer,Top Writer in Lyricism, Short Stories, Articles, Documentaries And Poetry.