Do I need a digital footprint?

Eun Sun Kim (S00209957)
2 min readSep 8, 2016

--

I looked up the definition of a digital footprint before I answer the question “Do I need a digital footprint?”. Rasmussen College career services advisor, Jessica Koltz said that the “digital footprint is your online trail,” which is the “Any activities you do or places you go, just like when you walk in sand, leaves a virtual footprint”. (Jennifer, 2014) The digital footprints are made when people uses internet, cards such as credit cards, GPS and social media.

http://www.digitalfamilysummit.com/2012/safety-protecting-your-digital-footprint/

After understanding what a digital footprint is, I would answer “YES” to the question “Do I need a digital footprint?”. This is because the digital footprint can be traced back as it has been created when I used digital technologies such as the internet. But, it is important for me to be careful when using digital technologies as there are negative effects of digital footprints.

http://blog.icm.education/career-success/your-digital-footprint-are-you-in-control/

When I researched digital footprint, I’ve found out some of the effects of it. Some of them is that I need to be careful when posting/putting something up on the internet as it can be access by anyone. My reputation will only be made with the information on the media, which can impact my career or the chance of getting a job as the “College admissions and employers do read your online profiles upon information they find out about you online”. Also, my private information should be kept private because if I put my private information up online and then delete it, it will go away on the screen, but the truth is that my digital footprint is marked. (Digital Media in the Classroom, n.d.) Therefore, even though I believe that the digital footprint is needed, it needs to be looked after and checked with care.

Digital Media in the Classroom (n.d.). 10 Things Your Students Should Know About Their Digital Footprints. Retrieved from http://www.teachhub.com/10-things-your-students-should-know-about-their-digital-footprints

Pfeffer, J. (2014 August 21). You Digital Footprint: What is it & How Can You Manage it? Retrieved from http://www.rasmussen.edu/student-life/blogs/main/your-digital-footprint/

--

--