Blur — Modern Life is Rubbish (1993)

Paddy G
1 min readAug 22, 2017

--

Modern Life is Rubbish was released in May, 1993.

The prime cut of 90s Britpop ? Modern Life is Rubbish. Spiffing riffing.

Thematically straddling mania and malaise, Underground onset inertia. So self-assured (the countdown bridge of Advert) with none of prescribed swagger that would go on to define and ultimately defame the 90s Britpop cell.

And don’t think I’m walking out of this

She don’t mind
Whatever I say, whatever I say
I don’t really want to change a thing
I want to stay this way forever

Colin Zeal is symbolic of the attuned lashings that course through the 14 tracks. A sublime trifecta strikes after a rowdy opening set; Star Shaped, arguably one of the strongest songs of their entire canon leads directly onto Blue Jeans (with it’s affecting she don’t mind refrain), followed by borderline rock ballad (& potential Tender precursor) Chemical World.

Turn It Up (a lost smash hit single) and the world-weary Resigned (with a vaudeville reprise) close out what is the band’s most cohesive and consistant outing. A cracking, densely drawn caricature.

--

--

Paddy G

I review albums I like, with an over-reliance on ham-handed similes. (Profile: https://open.spotify.com/user/1147078117)