Announcing Project Atlas — A vision for a cloud-native gaming future

Electronic Arts
15 min readOct 30, 2018

By Ken Moss, Chief Technology Officer at Electronic Arts

I think I have the best job in the world. Growing up, I spent my spare time and spare change at my neighborhood arcade. That’s also where I found a great group of friends. At 13, I programmed my first video game. At 15, I sold my first game on a cassette tape on a Commodore 64. Four years ago, I joined Electronic Arts as the CTO, and two years ago, I took over leadership of our Frostbite engine. My job is to create the technology that powers the games that can make 2.6 billion people around the world a little bit happier. And today, I’m excited to share some of what we’ve been working on that is going to change how future games are made.

Our industry has come a long way since I was a kid. But looking ahead to the next few years, I strongly believe that what’s on the horizon will bring greater changes than anything gaming has ever seen.

At EA, we envision a future in which games go even further beyond the immersive experiences players enjoy today. I’m talking about games that offer living, breathing worlds that constantly evolve. You’ll play them one day, and when you come back the next, things have changed based on inputs from other players, AI, and even the real world. These new experiences will lead to deep, meaningful social interactions. The games you play, the characters you create, and the experiences you have together will create shared ground for friendships that span the globe. I…

--

--

Electronic Arts

Official Medium account for EA. Go to EA.com or @EA on Twitter for updates on all your favorite EA games. For account help, visit http://help.ea.com.