Make Me Sweat

Elicia Wilson
5 min readFeb 27, 2024

--

You are living under a rock in Africa (or the world) if you haven’t heard Tyla’s song of the year (and it’s stuck on repeat in my head). I am officially OOO and attempting to step away from work for about 10 days while I spend some time in Plettenberg Bay which is on my itinerary thanks to my amazing friend Sam and his organization, The Sound of a Smile Program. It has been a wild, exciting and adventurous four days with some amazing volunteers (primarily from Massachusetts). Warning-I did not spellcheck or review so give me some grace.

I have started to write this post about 10 times at this point but just can’t seem to get it right. I am currently sitting outside of an after school center while three little girls braid my hair (I will regret this later) and trying to process everything I have seen and experienced…This post is an attempt to give you a glimpse into what I am doing. I hope in the coming days, I will be better able to do so. So, how did I end up in a small village in Plettenberg Bay?

Many important moments of my life have started in a bar. It’s how my pathway into workforce and economic development started 12 years ago and how my involvement with The Sound of a Smile started after randomly meeting a group of guys after a Celtics game. Since that chance encounter more than two years ago, Sam has become a very close friend (and my only biracial friend in Boston). The Sound of a Smile Program specifically focuses on helping to grow and strengthen Kurland village and brings volunteers to the community to help refurbish schools, learning centers, and community buildings; participate in feeding programs, rehab playgrounds, work on community gardens and more. We obtained 501c3 nonprofit status this past year, I joined the board, and after working with Sam for two years, I decided to see why he lives and breathes Kurland-and he threw me right in.

Day 1: I can do this. Sam scooped me from the airport on Thursday and we went directly to the smile center, which is a place the kids in Kurland visit after school to get help with homework, play games, and have a warm meal. The center is run by two incredible women who may be the kindest and warmest humans I have ever met. Lorna and Vina also scare the crap out of me and are a force to be reckoned with (in the best possible way). We are all staying in a place called Rainforest Ridge with 2–3 people in each room (at the moment there are about 21 volunteers with the program). I haven’t had a roommate in a decade but we all got comfortable real quick.

Day 2: What have I done? I was quickly assigned to construction to help with some projects around the village including adding sheet metal to a home for rain protections. In the first two hours I managed to cut myself, get covered in trash water, step in multiple piles of dog poop and burn myself on sparks from a tool. Construction is not a strong skill of mine but I had the best day with the most amazing construction crew in the village. After being used as a human tissue for the kids, we all grabbed drinks at a local bar before the volunteers got ready for an incredible beach-side dinner before coming back and drinking whiskey, cider and beer late into the night.

Day 3: I live here now. The weekend continued with some down time for the group and we went to Nature Valley beach for the day, out for a number of meals and went hiking at Tsitsikamma National Park. We all spent a lot of time together and have had a blast (pictures below).

For the last 2 days, I have just been in it and every day is packed with volunteering, exploring and learning (some photos below). Today, I stepped away briefly to log back on and do some work and I wanted to make sure I shared a slice of what I have been doing. There will be much more to come but I gotta go play with the kids at the field and try to untangle the numerous knots in my hair. Wish me luck!

You can click here to stay updated on my journey!

Working and hanging out in the village!
Hiking at Tsitsikamma and hanging at Nature’s Valley Beach.

--

--

Elicia Wilson

Yes, I am really doing this! Working remotely while traveling the world. 6+ countries over the next 6+ months. Buckle up and subscribe to stay updated!.