Kubernetes 1.24+ components one by one series

Elie
2 min readSep 7, 2022

--

There was a day I reading Kubernetes articles on Internet, happened to see a great series(the kubelet, the API server and the scheduler) for explaining how Kubernetes components are combined together to provide a real cluster

Then I thought why not try all of them from my end, yeah, this is why I am writing this series from my learning experience based on the links above.

Anyway, Kubernetes changed a lot in recent versions, especially the above blogs were wrote in 2015, and the version of Kubernetes is v1.0.3, super old, right? The latest version available now is v1.25, so lots of things changed. e.g. kubelet need to use KubeletConfiguration object, kube API server has removed the insecure port support, Docker shim has been removed in v1.24, and so on.

Anyway, thanks to the posts above, most of the concepts are still same, so to myself, it is definitely a great chance to try it and learn lots of useful stuff about Kubernetes.

Basically, the series will run the Control Plane components list below one by one to demonstrate how they are combined together.

Blog list

  • kubelet part 1 : click me
  • kubelet part 2 : click me
  • kubelet + API Server + ECTD: click me
  • kubelet + API Server + ETCD + kubectl + Scheduler: click me
  • kubelet + API Server + ETCD + kubectl + Scheduler + kube controller-manger: click me
  • kubelet + API Server + ETCD + kubectl + Scheduler + kube controller-manger + kube-proxy: click-me

If you happened to see this page, hope it can bring some things to you as well.

Thanks for reading.

Elie XU

--

--