Week 1 French Learning Summary 🇫🇷

Elinaliu
2 min readJan 30, 2017

--

My Week 1 Journey

Language learning is a new journey in life. And I started that journey in 1.22:)

I had planned to take a Japanese course this year so that I can apply for PM position in abroad 2–3 years later and Japanese is easy and Japan is near home, but I changed that plan in 1.22. It was the last work day before Spring Festival holiday, I hung out in cafes with my friends and told her my plan, inviting she to learn together. But she asked me: Why not French? So, I could not help asking myself: Why Japanese and why not French? I struggled a bit and made the decision.

What I Have Achieved in Week 1

I started my French learning via:

  • Hujiang Paid Class
  • Hujiang Vocabulary
  • Duolingo

I don’t know if the followed tools are the best tools for me to start, just because they are the reliable companions in my English learning.

And what I have achieved in week 1:

  • Hujiang Paid Class: L1 — L10
  • Hujiang Vocabulary: Passed the P6
  • Duolingo: Passed the Basic1 & Basic2 & Phrases & Animals Skills, gained 229xp

In short, I think that is a good start! And if I can shorten my pronunciation period, that is perfect!

Effective Methods I summarized

  • The experience I learned in English Learning is useful, such as how to deal with pronunciation.
  • Before start learning, learn about learning is necessary, such as understand the language learning journey and method: It takes 600+ hours of study & practice to reach fluency in French.
  • Companion and peers pressure is effective.
  • Use the PM skill in learning progress management, such as plan and measure process.
  • Attempt to “produce” in French, not just comprehend it.
  • Use atimelogger to track the time.

Thanks,

Elina

--

--