The Acrobats

Elizabeth Diane Dick
1 min readOct 5, 2015

The Acrobats

I want to give my youth to one man

Say goodbye to the menagerie of men

The freak show my memory has on display

No clowns or lions

No circus for me

Just stability

Just normalcy

A foreign land to me.

But I do miss the acrobats,

They would swing around my head

They would pick me up so I could fly

But I was always afraid of the fall

I would latch on to them

And they called me clingy

I found comfort when the lioness ate their hearts.

The men on tight ropes

Never balanced.

The jesters were just fools

The ringmaster was trampled by an elephant

But he stilled loved her.

The carnival ride

Was still better than the Russian novel

That my love use to be.

But everyday I strive to be better

And I want more

It’s a gift from Eve

Inherited from Eden.

--

--