The Best (and Worst) Cloth Diaper Brands

Elizabeth Wooten
12 min readDec 3, 2018

--

When I fell in love with cloth diapering, I developed a “gotta catch ’em all” obsession with trying everything out there to find what was best. I hope to pass along what I’ve learned to you! I’ve now been cloth diapering for two years, so I’ve seen how these diapers work from infancy to toddlerhood. These are just my opinions. I have not received any free diapers or perks from manufacturers mentioned here. And you may disagree with me! Most people will advise you to try several types before investing in a whole stash because everyone has different preferences and every baby is shaped a bit differently. For what it is worth, my son is fairly average in size and has fluctuated between 40–60th percentile in height and weight.

If you’re new to all this, it would help to read my other article, “The Down and Dirty of Cloth Diapering” first.

What’s the best, cheapest cloth diaper? This is the question I get asked the most. The best way to save money on diapers is to buy used! You can see my other article for more info on that, but just keep that in mind. I’ll be talking mostly about NEW prices here, but I’m a big fan of buying used.

All-In-Ones

Best all-around diaper goes to GroVia AIO. The. Trimmest. Cloth. Diaper. Ever. Consists of the sewn in cotton layer throughout the shell, and a flap of cotton with a snap-in booster included. All organic cotton. Stretchy tabs make it easy to get a good fit. Having the sewn in cotton really cuts down on leaks because you have nearly 360 degree absorbency. If you’re getting leaks in this diaper, you’re doing it wrong! This diaper is side-snapping, which can feel awkward if you’re used to front snaps, but those side snaps are a big part of what makes this diaper so trim fitting. And the company, GroVia, is fantastic in customer service. On the pricey side at $24 a piece.

Can’t swallow that price but want (most) everything else I just said? Try Happy Flute’s natural fiber AIOs. Happy Flute is a Chinese manufacturer, and you can’t always find their natural fiber AIOs from online diaper shops. You can get them through a co-op on Facebook or you can often find them (new and used) on Facebook buy-sale-trade groups or eBay. A co-op, if you don’t know, is a group that orders directly from the manufacturer, so the prices are great, but it takes about 8 weeks to receive your diapers. I have both their flap-style AIOs and their sewn-in soaker AIOs. The flap style are trimmer, but the sewn-in version is nice because it has an extra layer sewn into the whole shell (not just in the crotch like the flap-style). The flap style tends to bunch, and since there isn’t a “back-up” sewn in layer throughout, this exposes parts of the diaper to leaks. However, the sewn-in style takes FOREVER to dry, unlike the flap-style. So whereas the GroVia AIO is virtually perfect, with Happy Flute you do have to pick what’s most important to you. Good, cheap diapers and cute prints! Prices vary from $7-$12.

Other good AIOs include Smart Bottoms 3.1 and Bottombumpers. Smart Bottoms’ 3.1 diaper is similar to GroVia’s in that it has a layer of cotton sewn throughout the diaper and a flap sewn at one end. And it is all organic. However, it’s flap is super long and needs to be folded over before going on baby. It is nice to be able to concentrate absorbency where you need it, but the long flap bothers me because it gets wrapped around things in the washer. Smart Bottoms is also front-snapping instead of side-snapping, does not have stretchy tabs, and has “rolled” leg elastics whereas GroVia’s are “encased.” Different strokes for different folks. The 3.1 will run you $29.

Bottombumpers is a lesser-known company that makes great quality. They make all their diapers in the USA. They have a layer of cotton sewn throughout like the two previously mentioned. However, their soaker pad snaps out of the diaper entirely. They sell sized diapers as well as one-size (OS). They also sell both side-snapping and front-snapping. I have only tried their OS side-snap AIO. It’s a fine diaper. I don’t like how it has the rise snaps on the interior of the diaper. I imagine I would like their sized diapers very much. They run between $20-$25.

A quick word about GroVia’s ONE diaper. GroVia made this diaper to be a truly “one-stop shop” and make cloth diapering simple. Enough absorbency to use for night; removable absorbency to use for daytime; and the choice between velcro and snaps. I find it too bulky for daytime use. Many people love it for night. As I explain in my other article, night diapers are the hardest to get clean in the wash, and I found the ONE to be my most difficult diaper to keep clean. It has microfiber absorbency built into the shell, which is hard to get clean since it is only being washed from one side, if that makes sense. The other side is the TPU cover. However, if you are a lover of AIOs looking for a nighttime option, it might be worth trying. $23

Hybrids (All-In-Twos)

My favorite in this category are GroVia hybrids. I promise GroVia doesn’t win every category, but they do have this one locked down! Now, to clarify, GroVia’s covers are not my favorite covers. I love them when used as a hybrid system with GroVia snap-in soakers, but I don’t like them for anything else. The covers are lined with a soft mesh, so if used with a flat, fitted or prefold, the mesh gets wet. Not the end of the world, but it does smell like urine after just one use. GroVia’s snap-in soakers have waterproof backing (TPU) which makes this a non-issue when using the hybrid system. You can choose between microfiber (stay dry) or organic cotton (OC) soakers. OC is a much trimmer option, but they take forever to dry. I think the waterproof backing does not help in this regard. I have to keep flipping the OCs inside out and putting them back in the dryer to get them dry. Covers are $17 and soakers are $8–$10.

Runner up is a tie between the Flip system, which is made by Bumgenius, and Best Bottoms. Flip inserts tuck into Flip covers instead of snapping. I have only tried their microfiber (MF) inserts, which are super bulky on little babies because you fold them to fit, but super trim on bigger babies once you can stop doing that! Bunching was sometimes an issue. Not enough absorbency could be a problem for heavy wetters. Like all Bumgenius, they have the stretchy tabs that I love. Covers are $15 and MF inserts are $5 each.

Best Bottoms AI2 system has many fans for good reason. It’s a OS cover with different sized inserts. The inserts come in different materials, too. The benefit to the different sized inserts is obvious. It’s customized to baby’s size, so it’s neither too bulky when they are small, nor lacking absorbency once they are bigger. However, this makes the system expensive in my opinion. The covers do seem to be of high quality. Covers are $20 and inserts are $4–10.

With any hybrid system I recommend a ratio of one cover to three inserts once baby is on solid food. I don’t like hybrids before starting solids because runny poop gets on the cover every time, thus defeating the purpose of the system since you have to change the cover every time. So, before solids, you would need a 1 to 1 ratio of covers to inserts, so financially speaking, you might as well have bought pockets or AIOs. But of course, people have other reasons for preferring hybrids.

Pockets

My favorite pocket diapers are Glowbugs. More than any other diaper, Glowbugs are speaking the truth when they claim “birth to potty training.” They fit great on little babies. A lot of people can use them from birth. (I haven’t tried yet). They fit great on toddlers too. They have 4 rise settings. This is not super unusual, so do Smart Bottoms and Happy Flute, but Glow Bugs just seem to do it better! My 2 year old still has a rise to let out, and he might never need it! They are also the trimmest pocket diaper I have tried, and I love their prints. They actually don’t make solid colors at all. They feature a 360 degree interior gusset that is better than any other “double gusset” diaper at containing liquidy poop. Now, once poop is more solid, I actually dislike the 360 gusset because it makes the diaper harder to spray off. However, if you’ve read my other article, you know there is a fantastic solution to that problem, which keeps Glowbugs at the top of my list — fleece liners! There is just one other potentially negative feature to mention. They use a material for the inner lining which supposedly wicks away moisture, but it just doesn’t seem to “stay dry” like the standard fleece and microsuede options. However, I believe this lining contributes to its trimness, so I wouldn’t change it. Plus, FLEECE LINERS, hello, get on board! There’s your “stay dry” solution right there. You have to buy them in bundles of six diapers, which come with a variety of inserts and a wet bag for $95. The only way to get singles is through their occasional singles sale or through BST groups.

Two other brands I like for pockets are Bumgenius and Elf. Elf is a Chinese company that copied Bumgenius, so they are very similar. They both feature the stretchy tabs that I love for getting a good fit. On the downside, I should mention that the stretchy tabs (of any brand) are prone to wicking (leaking from the tab) if you don’t have enough absorbency in there.

Bumgenius feel like better quality all around, but not to an extent that I really care. I do think there is a big difference in quality of inserts, particularly if you’re going with microfiber. I love Bumgenius’ microfiber inserts. They are wide enough for full coverage, they don’t bunch, and they don’t suffer from compression leaks as much as my cheap MF inserts. Bumgenius also come with two inserts, one newborn size and one OS. This was really nice for little babies. We used just the newborn size from 1–5 months, which kept them a lot less bulky. Both brands are really simple to get a good fit. I think it is because they are cut widely, which, on the flip side, makes them not as trim. Nevertheless, these are the ones I sent to daycare because between the stretchy tabs and their generous cut, it’s hard to really screw up the fit.

Bumgenius are $20 each including inserts while Elf are $8 each without inserts. The best bang for your buck would be Elf diapers with Bumgenius inserts, or a Flour Sack Towel as an insert, or some other good quality inserts.

A brief tangent about “China Cheapies”… When people use this term, they are referring to a plethora of brands (some un-branded or re-branded) from China that can cost under $5 a piece. Alva is the most famous brand. I was very curious to try some cheapies because I knew they worked for many people. Could it be that you can cloth diaper with cheapies just as easily as the more expensive brands? Alas, no, not for me at least.

I bought two Alva, six Sunbaby and one un-branded pocket to try. The Alva and the no-name diaper leaked through their PUL EVERY TIME. I used the SAME INSERTS as I was using in all my other pockets. The fit was good. This was a brand problem. The only way they wouldn’t leak was to add WAY more absorbency, which makes sense when you think about it. If you have way extra absorbency, you’re not really depending on the waterproofing of the diaper to contain the wetness. So I could MAKE them work, but they had to be so bulky that his clothes didn’t fit. Most babies I’ve seen in Alvas look just as booty-licious. Some people aren’t bothered by the bulkiness, or perhaps accept it as the trade off to saving money. I sold two of those diapers, and kept one to use as a swim diaper.

The Sunbaby did much better. If you were determined to buy new and you asked me what is the cheapest, “modern-style” diaper I would recommend, it would be Sunbaby. I would still rather you buy something else used. The fit is just a bit unappealing. I mean it works, but it ain’t pretty. However, Sunbaby is made better than the other cheapies. They have a PUL tummy panel to stop wicking from the waist, for instance. It’s a bit confusing because they have two sizes but both sizes are supposed to be one-size. Size 1 is for thinner kids and Size 2 for chunkier kids. I think there is some value in this, but if you’re trying to buy diapers while pregnant or in the first few months, how are you supposed to know which one to get? I got Size 1, and my two year old can still wear them, but only if I skip the hip snap. $36 gets you six diapers with six bamboo inserts. You need to use two inserts in each diaper though, so buy extra.

Pocket Inserts

As I mentioned above, my favorite microfiber insert is Bumgenius. They truly function better than my off-brand MF.

My favorite bamboo insert is Alva, believe it or not! Their 3 layer bamboo is great. It’s a big wider than Sunbaby which is why I prefer it.

My favorite hemp/cotton blend is Thirsties. Holds A LOT and doesn’t necessarily require pairing with something since it has the cotton mixed in.

My favorite 100% hemp insert is Happy Flute because they are wider than any others I could find, which means flooding is less likely since you have fuller coverage.

The best 100% cotton insert is Blueberry’s. You wouldn’t want to pair it with anything or it would get bulky. It’s meant to be used alone. I love that it is so long, so you can fold it to focus absorbency where you need it without it being too thick to wash well. Another cotton option: you can’t go wrong with Flour Sack Towels if you don’t mind folding them (I did mind a bit).

My best booster/doubler is GroVia’s 3 layer cotton. It holds a shocking amount for such a little thing, and is just so trim and useful!

Covers

My favorite OS covers (to go over fitteds, flats or prefolds) are Flip and Elf. Since Flip is made by Bumgenius, it’s pretty much the same story as above with the pockets, so I won’t be redundant. Flips are $15 each. Elfs are $7 each.

However! I do not like OS (one-size) covers! They are bulky on little babies, though they function just fine starting around 10 lbs. My main issue is they aren’t big enough on toddlers. My OS covers barely fit over my two year old’s fitteds during the day, and with an extra booster at night — forget about it!

So, with that said, my all-time favorite covers are Thirsties Duo Wraps. They come in two sizes. The size 1 can definitely be used from birth, and my toddler still has a rise to let out on the size 2. I really appreciate the elastic at the front of the waist for keeping the top of the fitted/prefold/flat covered and away from clothes. They are $13 a piece, so it’s not too burdensome to have to buy two sizes. The company has really good customer service too.

Prefolds

Green Mountain Diapers Cloth-eez all the way for prefolds. They are sized logically and appropriately. You can choose from white, unbleached or organic cotton. The price is very reasonable (varies from $1–4 each depending on size, type and quantity).

Osocozy is another decent brand. They have just two sizes. The smaller size was good, but the larger size had its proportions off. It was way too narrow, so my son outgrew it in width way before he should have outgrown it by length. Slightly cheaper than GMD, and you can get them on Amazon.

Gerber prefolds are pretty worthless. Actually, I take that back. They are great for cleaning or burp cloths. Not great for diapers. I appreciated them as newborn diapers because they are so thin and flimsy, they fit well on a tiny baby. But they don’t hold hardly any pee.

GroVia prefolds are luxuriously soft but have been known to have problems with shrinking and are expensive, so that’s why I’m not recommending them.

Flats

I have only used Flour Sack Towels as flats! So I can’t really help you. I would start at Green Mountain Diapers!

Fitteds

My favorite fitteds are Mother Ease Sandy’s. I love the side-snapping design with front and back elastics. The two by three snap design allows you to snap different widths in the legs versus the waist if you want to. It’s just another option to ensure a good fit. The terry fabric is super soft. They seem to last forever. I have some I bought used where my son is the 4th user. The elastic is still good! They’re my first choice for nighttime. $12–17

Green Mountain Diapers Workhorse is another, perfectly fine fitted and is slightly cheaper at $10-$14.

Accessories

Cloth wipesGroVia, hands down. The terry cloth picks everything right up. I can clean up the biggest mess with just one.

Pail linersPlanet Wise, just because they are slightly larger than the others I have tried.

Wet bagsGroVia’s Perfect Pail if you’re looking for a large hanging wet bag. Glowbug’s wetbags are a great medium size, which is much more useful than any smaller ones if you ask me. But if you want a small one, I’d recommend GroVia or Blueberry for that. I do not love Planet Wise’s large hanging wetbag. It does weird things in the washer because of the two layers.

That covers my experience in my first two years of cloth diapering! Good luck! I’d love to hear what brands YOU love.

--

--