Groupon Getaway: The Pit Stop

E. L. Lane
3 min readJun 30, 2017

--

Contents are more delicious than you expect.

After our two-hour spa retreat and lunch in Coral Springs, and our stay at a hotel in Fort Lauderdale, we head back to Miami. But before picking up our toddler from grandma and grandpa’s house, we decide to make a quick stop for a snack at Honeybee Doughnuts.

There was a line, so I read the menu patiently and tried not to drool.

They serve special doughnuts (not on the menu) that are available only certain days of the week.

It’s almost my turn and I notice that they have two Fruity Pebbles doughnuts left, and I intend on ordering one, but the family ahead of me, takes both of them.

Nooooooooooooooooo… Taken from: https://memecrunch.com/meme/BH5VM/noooo/image.jpg?w=400&c=1

So I decide to look away while they are ordering, because my heart just can’t handle another doughnut disappointment.

It’s my turn to order and I suddenly have stage fright.

“Hi. What can I get you,” says the polite young man across the display case.

I look at him wide-eyed and say, “I want to get three doughnuts. Do you recommend any?”

He looks at the selection they have and says, “Raspberry coulis, for sure. The Honey Caramel and Nutella are good too.”

I nod, “I’ll take’em.”

Raspberry Coulis. *drooling*
Honey Caramel. *drooling some more*
Nutella. *runs to change out of her drool-soaked shirt*

Aren’t they just the most beautiful doughnuts you’ve ever laid eyes on?

Anyway, we find a table outside, and get ready to dig in to these gorgeous oeuvres d’art.

Delicacies such as these call for the use of eating implements.

The Raspberry Coulis is light and refreshing. The Honey Caramel is a sweet treat. And the Nutella is rich and chocolaty.

After trying each one, I can’t decide which was my favorite, but after a few more bites of each, the choice becomes clear — the Raspberry Coulis wins the Most Delicious Doughnut in the Box Award.

Thank you, Honeybee Doughnuts! You make some delightful doughnuts. I’ll be back to try the Fruity Pebbles!

Thank you for reading the final part of our four-part Groupon Getaway series!

If you liked what you read, and would like to read Part One, “Groupon Getaway: The Spa,” you can click here.

If you’re interested in reading Part Two, “Groupon Getaway: The Restaurant,” you can click here.

For Part Three, “Groupon Getaway: The Hotel,” you can click here.

Like what you read? Come join me on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and my website. See ya there!

Groupon Affiliate Disclosure:

E. L. Lane and E. L. Lane Writer are participants in the Groupon Affiliate Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Groupon.com.

--

--

E. L. Lane

Mother, daughter, wife, and writer with an M.A. in Clinical Psychology that sits on my bookshelf gathering dust. Www.ellanewriter.com #ninjawriter