A Student’s Workout: Lifting to the Top

A photo series documenting Mckenzi Ruppert’s work-out ritual.

Emily Hodge
The Reynolds Sandbox
2 min readJan 12, 2017

--

Mckenzi Ruppert, a sophomore, gets ready by making a playlist of songs to workout to. For a lot of people, this is an important part because songs help people workout more efficiently.
Mckenzi works at a vitamin shop and keeps up with the best supplements to stay energized and to maximize her performance during the duration of her workout. Being a full time student and working part-time at a nutrition store, it is imperative to start her workouts with supplements that she knows will fuel her for the next one to two hours of intense training.
To start a workout she starts with a warmup to loosen up her muscles to keep from getting injured. “ Trying to get back into weightlifting can be very tiring and strenuous on your body physically and mentally. Before I go into any heavy lifting or workouts I always make time to warm up my muscles. The stair master is one of my favorite exercises that heats up your entire body while also allowing me time to mentally pump myself up.”
Although chalk is not entirely necessary for weightlifting, Mckenzi likes to use it to keep her hands from slipping off of the bar. Whether that is during dead-lifts, front squats, or her all-time favorite lift: power-cleaning. Some even strategically place chalk on their legs, arms, and shoulders to keep the bar from slipping out of their hands or off their body to ensure safe and heavy lifting.
“ My first year of college I was very adamant about keeping my healthy lifestyle that I was incredibly focused on throughout high school, but as my sophomore year of college approached I realized that I steered from my healthy lifestyle that I took pride in. I gained weight, I stopped lifting and to be quit honest I felt like complete shit inside and out. After being in a slump, I decided I wanted to be a better me, a healthier me, and now I’m setting goals for myself. I really look forward to pursuing a passion for weightlifting by joining UNR’s club weightlifting team and even if that does not work out I will be proud of my dedication to a healthy lifestyle and my goals.”
Passion. Power. Progress. Leaving the gym is a bitter sweet moment. With tired aching muscles and fatigue, she is excited and comforted because she knows she will be back again. The gym is more than equipment, mirrors, and busy bodies. For Mckenzi, the gym is a second home, a place where relationships are built and goals are achieved even if there is literal blood, sweat and tears.

--

--

Emily Hodge
The Reynolds Sandbox

Delta Gamma! Journalism Major! Carpe Diem! University of Nevada, Reno '19