Body Positivity: 7 Reasons Why It Isn’t Always A Good Thing

Emma Carey
8 min readJul 7, 2022
body positivity: line drawing of curvy body of woman

I want to be body positive. I really do. But for some reason, I can’t seem to get there. Sure, there are days when I look in the mirror and think, ‘Damn gurl, you look hot.’ But that only seems to happen when I wear a great outfit with my hair and make-up done. I don’t do a Lizzo and tell myself how fine I look every day. Do you feel the same, or is it just me?

It wasn’t until I started working on myself that I realised why I couldn’t whole-heartedly love my body. After doing some self-development (stay with me), something vital about the body positivity movement clicked. I began to see why so many people struggle to worship what their mamma gave them. So I thought I’d share them with you because I’m nice like that.

1. The Movement Doesn’t Allow Room For Shame

Shame is a normal emotion that many people feel around their bodies. It is common in women. They’re taught as young girls to simultaneously cover up while being sexualised because their bodies aren’t ‘appropriate.’

When I was eleven, I ran around the paddling pool in just a pair of swimming pants. My sister was about eight, and the rest of my siblings even younger than that. It was hot, and not wearing a top was normal for kids. I wasn’t even aware that my body exposure was bad (I…

--

--

Emma Carey

I am a freelance self-development blog writer. Need some self-care? I got you.