How to Care of Yourself on a Bad Mental Health Day

Emma Carey
11 min readMay 9, 2023

--

Bad mental health day: Woman sat on floor with anxiety cloud above her head

Mental health is a hot topic everyone’s talking about. But have you ever had a day when your brain thinks, ‘nope’ and pulls its head back under the covers? I’ve had my fair share of mental stress struggles, and to be honest, they suck.

I suffered from depression and anxiety for years and still get bad days. I also have epilepsy, and sometimes my body shuts down to recharge. No matter how often your mental wellbeing takes a hit, it never gets easier. But there’s hope!

By the end of this article, you’ll walk away with some realistic tips to nurture yourself on a difficult mental health day and make it a little less shit.

Take a Mental Wellbeing Sick Day

Mental health in the workplace: Tissues and a mug of tea from feeling ill.
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Whenever I type into Google, ‘What to do on bad mental health day,’ it always says something bullshit, like, ‘Go for a walk, see friends, speak to your therapist!’

What if you’re too knackered to pull on a pair of socks? What if you don’t have a therapist on speed dial or one at all? And most importantly, what if the biggest barrier to these things is that you have work? I have the answer for you. Call in sick. Do it now.

Mental health in the workplace is tricky to navigate. It’s uncomfortable calling up a coworker and saying, ‘Hey, so I can’t come in today because my depression means I can barely eat cereal, and the thought of work makes me want to vom.’

I’ve used the stomach bug line or back pain. If you’re lucky enough to have epilepsy (like me), you have a get-out-of-free jail card. There’s got to be some perks, right?!

Taking the day off is vital because work is often a huge source of mental stress. You also need to understand that you’re calling in sick because you are sick. You’re not lying, and you don’t want to do anything that makes your mental health condition last longer.

Look After Your Mental Wellness By Accepting That Today Won’t Be That Productive

Woman sleeping on a bed to reduce mental stress.
Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

Some days are about survival, not achieving your lifelong goals. Sure, there are evenings when I turn off my light nice and early with the mindset that tomorrow will be an awesome day. I plan to get up at 6:00 am, stay focused, and manifest my dream life (*cue eye roll*).

Then reality hits, and I wake up feeling like I haven’t slept in days. I’m gutted. I had so much planned and a lot to do, so times like these are frustrating as hell. But here’s how I manage it:

Start Your Mental Health Sick Day by Reevaluating Your Goals

Person reducing their to-do list to help their mental wellbeing.
Photo by Daria Shevtsova on Unsplash

The best thing to do when your mental wellbeing is less than ideal is to reduce mental stress. This kind of follows on from the above point, which is to change what you view as productive. On bad days I do this by looking at my to-do list and asking myself the below questions:

  • Do I have the energy to complete any of these tasks?
  • Can I do them from the sofa?
  • Will doing this work make me feel worse?

If you push through, you’re not giving your body the rest it needs, and the burnout cycle continues. Doing a few small things is great, but sometimes, you have to let it slide. If this is the case, get in touch with people to tell them you need to push back deadlines.

You can also push back your own deadlines. Convinced that the laundry needs to be done today? Not on depression’s watch. But that doesn’t mean it won’t get done in the future.

Move Through Tasks Using Baby Steps

Baby learning to walk
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Some days, I’m utterly exhausted and need to rest after brushing my teeth. Everything is draining. At times like this, I do simple things in small increments by breaking everything down.

Maybe I put on clean loungewear and then rest. After that, I might get some water and a snack before taking another break. Gradually, I make progress, and by lunchtime, yes, I’m still on the sofa watching Gilmore Girls, but I’m also dressed, with brushed teeth and combed hair.

Try a Ta-Dah! List to Reduce Mental Stress

Woman writing in journal to reduce mental stress.
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Even though I know I need to rest on mental health days, I still suffer major guilt. I have the mindset that I need to be productive all the time. Otherwise, I’m lazy and worthless! Wrong, but that’s what my brain tells me. If this is you, try making a ‘Ta-dah!’ list.

Ta-dah lists are like to-do lists, but they show your achievements rather than a never-ending essay of tasks. Anything counts on your ta-dah list. That’s right, anything.

Put on a pair of pants? Ta-dah! Rested while you watched a Netflix special? Ta-dah! Carved out time to have a nap? Extra ta-dah!

Before you know it, that list will build. At the end of the day, instead of seeing a bunch of things you haven’t done, you’ll have a beautiful list of accomplishments.

Invest in Some Good Quality Loungewear For Your Mental Health

Woman in comfy clothes with hot drink to nurture her mental health
Photo by allison christine on Unsplash

There’s nothing worse when you’re feeling sorry for yourself than hauling on a pair of jeans. They scream, ‘I’m going out, feeling confident, and might have to undo my belt after a burger.’

But if there’s one thing they’re not for, it’s sad days. A waistband that cuts into my stomach while I haul down three bars of chocolate? No thank you.

However, you also don’t want to fish out a mismatched, smelly pair of old clothes. That stained top stretched out from your boobs and those saggy jogging bottoms may feel comfy, but they will also make you feel worse.

Feel like crap? Might as well look like it. As a result, you’ll probably stay indoors and avoid the Amazon delivery guy.

Cat looking scared because they don’t want to see anyone on a bad mental health day.
Photo by Andrew Umansky on Unsplash

My face when the doorbell rings on a bad mental health day.

Instead, get some cosy, warm and, dare I say, fashionable loungewear. It’ll still be comfy when you put it on, but you can curl up feeling a little more put together. It may even trigger you to care for another need, like placing a pint of water next to you.

Wearing something you appreciate is also an act of self-care and signals that you’re showing yourself love rather than hating on your illness.

One more thing — keep that loungewear clean and save it for a rainy, mental health day. When you’re too exhausted to shower, you will feel that bit better for wearing clean clothes instead of rifling through the laundry basket. Invest in multiple pieces if you know you’re a fiend for comfies. They don’t have to be expensive, just good enough to do the job.

Nurture Your Mental Wellbeing by Looking After Your Basic Needs

Glass of water with plant in background to enhance mental wellbeing
Photo by GLOBENCER on Unsplash

Mental health conditions worsen when you neglect your body’s basic needs. I’m one of those people who will stop eating when I’m tired or stressed. This isn’t great because the less food I have in my body, the less energy I have to function, and it becomes a vicious cycle.

Maybe you’re the complete opposite, and you’re a binge eater. Whoever you are, remember that eating something is better than nothing.

If you find it difficult to eat, then gather easy-to-eat foods. My favourite healthy snacks are mango, chilli-rice crackers and frozen raspberries. But I still include chocolate buttons and fizzy sweets! Food is fuel, so no matter what, remember that your body needs something to function.

Baby with its head in a cake: ideal for a bad mental health day
Photo by Henley Design Studio on Unsplash

Me allowing myself a whole birthday cake when I can’t deal with my mental health.

When dragging yourself to the kitchen feels like a lot of effort, it’s easy to get dehydrated. I recommend filling a massive bottle of water and having it within arm’s reach.

Extra points if the bottle has a straw, so you barely have to lift your head. If you have enough battery life, adding cucumber, lemons or oranges to your water gives you that extra pampering.

My last tip for basic needs is sleep. If you need to nap, then do it. Don’t want to climb back into bed? Set yourself up on the sofa. Grab your pillows and your duvet and snuggle up with some teddies. Let yourself drift in and out of sleep rather than drying out your eyeballs by trying to stay awake.

Do Something Nice to Reduce Mental Stress

Woman painting other woman’s nails to reduce mental stress
Photo by Kris Atomic on Unsplash

I love painting my nails. It’s something I neglected for years, but I forgot how happy it makes me to see hot pink nail varnish on a rainy day.

Maybe you want to have a long video gaming sesh or watch hours of reaction videos on YouTube. Perhaps you decide to splash out on some strawberries because that’s what you’re craving.

On some bad days, my partner calls in sick and takes me to a big open park where we have ice cream in April. I used to be terrified of someone spotting me and not believing how ill I felt.

But small acts of kindness and love (no matter what they are) always contribute to my healing and take the edge off any bad day.

Show Your Mental Health Compassion and Give Yourself Permission to Be Sad

Mental Health: grumpy pug in blanket
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

No one wants to be sad. It’s an unpleasant and undesirable feeling. As a result, people tend to push their emotions to the bottom of a dark box and sit on the lid, hoping those feelings never get out. But this only makes it worse.

When you reject negative emotions, you are rejecting a part of yourself. You’re essentially telling your brain, ‘I don’t want you. You’re not welcome here. Go away.’ This makes you feel unloved, and the underlying emotions build and build.

Instead, remind yourself that the feeling won’t last forever. Emotion means ‘energy in motion,’ so when you experience lowness, it is a feeling moving through you. But you have to let it move by permitting yourself to be sad.

You’re allowed to feel upset, angry, trapped or frustrated. You probably have a good reason. Mental health conditions ease up when you show yourself some compassion. So, let the tears flow and watch your favourite rom-com.

Things to Avoid During a Bad Mental Health Day

Woman with hands up to make sure she avoids things bad for her mental health
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Now that you know some ways to soften a bad mental health day, it’s crucial you know what not to do. This is essential because you enhance your wellbeing by making better choices and reducing negative ones.

Don’t Go on a Spending Spree — It Won’t Help Your Mental Wellness

Woman with lots of shopping bags which is negatively impacting her mental health
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

When I’m sad, I want to spend to make myself feel better. It gives me a rush of dopamine and something to look forward towards. The only problem is that I buy shit I don’t need or even want because I wasn’t in the right headspace.

I know it feels good in the moment. I know it gives you a little ray of sunshine when you’re in a pit of doom. But don’t do it. If you already have, then avoid spending anymore.

If you’re really craving it, then buy something small that you’ll use regularly. It might not feel as rewarding, but you’re showing long-term gratitude. So, get that pair of new socks or replace your manky hairbrush.

Don’t Force Yourself to Do Something Bad For Your Mental Wellbeing

Woman frustrated on laptop and making her mental health worse.
Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

Me pulling my brain out because I don’t have the mental health capacity to function.

When I have a terrible day, I look at my list and think, ‘Well, I have to do that.’ The problem is that I don’t have the mental energy to finish the task, so I sit at my computer and find ways to procrastinate.

I open my emails, watch YouTube, browse online and even take a little snooze on my keyboard. Finally, I look guiltily at the clock, and it just makes me feel worse.

The best thing to do in these situations is to acknowledge it won’t happen. So, I get up and do something else. Maybe I make my bed or put away some clothes, then collapse on the sofa for the rest of the day.

But, the worst thing to do is have a one foot in, one foot out attitude. That’s when you don’t do the thing you’re supposed to do but don’t relax the way you want to either. The lane you want to choose is the one with your best interests at heart.

Don’t Try And Catch Up The Next Day, Or You’ll Create Burnout

Woman in pink room with head on her lap because she’s got burnout
Photo by Verne Ho on Unsplash

It’s easy to tell yourself that when you next feel good, you’ll catch up on everything you didn’t get done. So, you run around, stressing yourself out, cleaning, getting a food shop or replying to emails. Before you know it, you’re exhausted and can barely open your eyes the next day.

Life is about balance. So, if you’ve got some energy back, don’t go cashing it all in at once! That’s like living paycheck to paycheck. You want consistent energy and good health, so don’t use everything in your tank as soon as you refuel.

Instead, pick a few things to do. If you have energy left afterwards, then great. BUT DON’T USE IT. Save it, and you’ll minimise the vicious cycle of burnout.

Remember, Bad Mental Health Days Happen to Everyone

people holding hands for mental health
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Even if someone isn’t struggling with their mental wellbeing, I can guarantee they’ll have days when they just need a break. It’s normal.

Look after your mental wellness by resting, understanding your needs and showing yourself a little compassion. With practice, bad mental health days will get that bit easier. Good luck you beautiful human!

Follow me on Medium, Pinterest, and Instagram for more content!

--

--

Emma Carey

I am a freelance self-development blog writer. Need some self-care? I got you.