What is strength?

According to Merriam-Webster strength is the quality or state of being strong.

Eric J. Smith
2 min readAug 31, 2018
Rosie

I believe many of us have or have had a misconception that strength is purely physical and although physical strength can be important I think mental strength deserves more attention. This is something we all need to work on. Whether it’s finding the motivation to get up in the morning, never giving up, and being more aware of the joy in life or being more accepting of others, bettering our budgeting skills, and trying to be the role model we wish we had.. mental strength is something I think we all need to work on as well as be openly proud of our progress. We can’t allow ourselves to fall into a rut without making a true effort to escape it and, at the same time, we can’t imply that every day is great. That does nothin for us and it does even less for our followers.

We all have good days and bad days. I think social media has played a massive roll in weakening our society on a mental level. Most Americans get about two weeks of vacation a year and many of us spend it with our friends and/or families for Thanksgiving and Christmas. There are over 300 million Americans going through the same shit you are. That shit just gets expressed over 300 million different ways. If every day doesn’t feel like a vacation don’t freak out. Every day doesn’t feel like a vacation for most people.

a dog (friend) in Laredo, TX

Lastly, don’t forget we’re in this together and that if you ever need a hand or a hug I’m here for you. Believe me.. I need help and hugs all the time. I just don’t admit it as much as I probably should. There’s strength in numbers! ❤️

P.S. Most memorable experiences aren’t so much about where you were but rather who you were with. Try to surround yourself with quality people wherever you may find yourself and I promise you the dark days will always seem a little brighter when you’re with them. I wish you the best!

--

--

Eric J. Smith

Acknowledgement without action perpetuates the problem. Knowing there’s a problem and doing nothing to stop it makes you the oppressor.