Marinette

Erzulie Rada
4 min readOct 12, 2019

Loas are intermediaries between Bondye (God) and humans. Each loa is responsible for a particular aspect of life, and have their own personalities based on their experience when they were human. Yes, many loas were once human and their energy has been infused into our Vodou. One loa in particular lived in the time of slavery, her lover had been killed and she was violated before being burned alive. Her anger is still present and powerful. She is full of rage and often has her chwal (person she mounts) drink gasoline. She is part of the Petro nation, the hot and fiery warriors of Vodou, and she is often called upon for vengeance. She is feared because she causes chaos and destruction on her path. Those who unfortunately have come face to face will speak of her cruelty. Her name is Marinette.

When I first met my beau, I had been given a message in a dream about my relationship. I was shown an elderly woman reading tarot cards and saying “I don’t like what I see”. I saw the card that represents my love and it was covered by many other cards, so what she did was to add as many cards with hearts over it and added many other face cards. It seemed that she was trying to balance the energies. About 4 months later, I had Mamika read for me and it came up “Your relationship will be attacked.” I shrugged. I really had it in my head that I was protected and nothing could ever be done to me again. I wonder why I still had not learned about asking for what to do to keep harm away when warned about it. I didn’t say or do anything. I just shrugged. I had convinced myself that all will be fine.

From March to August, I energetically felt things happening. I was attacked in my sleep many times but the worst was actually being affected by what had been done to my bond with my boyfriend. I saw him beginning to get cold and more distant over time. It pained me so much but still I did nothing about it. Despite the many readings I did in which Mamika saw that I harbored pain, and I never told her why. I never spoke up and asked her about what could be done to keep this wanga away from destroying my relationship. By September, we decided to do something to harmonize my bond. It had been revealed to us that a zombie was soon approaching both of us. We would have died. I didn’t assist the ritual that time, I believe that my energy didn’t need to be present.

“A life can be saved.” said Cilibo, a loa who represents courage, told us that justice is here to remind that one day we are to answer to our acts and sow our seeds. He also said that justice will be in my favor. Mamima received messages from spirit who told her exactly what to do…We were to harmonize our souls. This ritual happened on a Saturday, I remember it clearly. I was supposed to have gone up to the mountains with my family but I knew I was to meet Mamika. On my way to her, I saw in my mind’s eye a bottle of rum. I arrived to her on mid-day since she never gave me a fixed time butI learned one very important thing regarding my spiritual journey that day; positive energy is present after noon. This means that if one is looking to find light and harmony, its best they do their rituals in the morning, or after noon, 3pm is preferable. I never knew that.

The ritual was meant to be done with the energy of Ogou Feray, which made sense due to seeing the bottle of rum I was supposed to buy. He told me what he wanted even before I reached Mamika’s house. It was an interesting ritual thought. I can definitely say that love rituals are my favorite because they smell so nice and are so empowering. One isn’t forcing the other to love them but instead harmonizing their energies. We had to do this ritual so that my beau could be protected. I had entered him into my spiritual realm so that anything thrown at him wouldn’t cause his death. However, our relationship had been attacked viciously and he was hit very hard mentally. I couldn’t do anything but see him detach more and more. He became depressed, anxious and gave up on many of his projects. By November he broke up with me.

I was hurt of course, but I understood why. “At least his life was saved” I said to myself, and all I could have done was to wait for the ritual’s effect to take place which would bring us back. From November 13th up until now, I have done nothing but fight Melvin’s attacks on him. He realized that he broke us up but he knew that we would be back together so he did all in his power with the woman using Marinette’s energy to kill my boyfriend. All he wanted was to “beat me” yet…he never realized that with each attack I got stronger.

. . . . I just didn’t know that with a spell one could guide someone from far to commit acts. This means that, not only did Melvin break us up, he found a way to manipulate energies around my beau to get a woman after him-his employee.

Barbienne…also using Marinette’s energy came forward to force him to love her and breaking bonde we had left.

--

--