My Bootcamp challenges and how I Adapted

Espoir Murhabazi
2 min readNov 27, 2018

--

The strongest survive, source

The room was silent, everyone was concentrated on his laptop, either by doing personal activities, writing pivotal tracker user stories, fixing unit tests or just watching videos on YouTube.

No one could imagine the pain I had that day when I entered into that room and realized that I was the only boot camper without a laptop during the pre-boot camp session.

It’s not time to write about how I lost my MacBook one day before the boot camp, but I’m going to write about how I adapt to that challenge and others challenges I am facing during the boot-camp.

At the end of the pre-boot camp session, I knew that I have to find a new laptop for the boot camp in less than forty-eight hours.

The simplest solution was to rent a laptop for two weeks.

On Sunday morning I rent a new laptop from my young brother set it up and make it ready for boot camp day one.

Keeping time has never been easy for me but as future Andelan and in order to reflect Andela EPIC values we were required to deliver daily output on time.

To overcome that challenge, I had to learn how to prioritize and how to set reminders on slack so that I could deliver daily output on time.

Asking for help has never been easy for me before the boot camp I was that developer who could spend more than three hours trying to solve a particular problem without asking for help.

In the past ten days, I have learned how to ask for help and to not let yourself be blocked on a task for more than one hour.

The last challenge I’m facing is the fear of rejection at the end of the boot camp.

I adapt to it by listening to my favorite Shakira song.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6rP-YP4c5I

The following lyrics are my motivation booster:

I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
Till I reach the end
And then I’ll start again
Though I’m on the lead
I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail x2

--

--

Espoir Murhabazi

By day: I work at @andela as a software engineer. By Night: Learning about data science and Machine learning.