Psychology in Business

Learn Human Nature, Learn How to Win in Business

Ethan Levy
2 min readOct 4, 2016

October 3rd, 2016

Woke up, jogged per usual. In the morning we had our second-ever FailUpWatson meeting. As a reminder, these meetings are about accountability & self-awareness. A time for Watson students to share their weekly goals and updates with an accountability-buddy. Simple idea.

This week we had a few new members, and almost everyone who attended our first meeting also attended this meeting, which is a good sign. People are voluntarily participating because it provides some level of value.

In my session, I explained the challenge I’m facing with the interviews. At first, the interviews were really fun. But as time has passed, I’m perceiving the interviews more as work since they take a lot of time and they feel forced. My partner for today recommended that other FailUpWatson members engage in the interviewing process, to decrease my responsibility and expedite the on-boarding process. I thought it was a really good and simple idea.

So at the end of the meeting, I asked the group if they would be interested in interviewing one other student by the end of the week. They expressed interest. Sweet! That just made my job a lot easier, and it will hopefully grow this group for the next meeting.

In the afternoon, we had a master course class with “Jose Lopez,” who I had spoken with the week prior. Jose spoke about “People Management” and the importance of psychology in business & sales. Really important and relevant stuff. Jose spoke a lot about human nature, what people are driven by, what they like, and how you can use these things in business. Success in business is a lot about your social skills. He spoke about culture, negotiation, personality types, conscious, subconscious, non-conscious, evolutionary psychology, biases, decision-making, books, personal stories, social psychology, and more.

It was a useful session. Some stuff I had already learned in Management/Psych classes, but some stuff was new as well. Plus, he has a very different approach & perspective to life, so it was fascinating to hear more about how he goes about business & building relationships.

Idk why but not too impressed with my productivity today. There just never seems to be enough time in the day. My list of things to do is getting a bit extensive, since a lot of things have been put off. And tomorrow is going to be a full day which will make it difficult to make progress on that. So, we’ll see how this week goes but I do look forward to it! Things should pick up as I get more into the swing of things.

--

--

Ethan Levy

A dude with a passion for living life to its fullest - my mission is to see the world.