I Put Effort Into My WFH Looks for a Week. Here’s What I Found.

Genevieve McMullen
7 min readDec 12, 2021
Photo: Unsplash

We’ve all heard THE go-to phrase when it comes to determining the rules for work related fashion, “dress for the job you want, not the job you have.” But how much of that rings true when we’re sitting behind our desks in the comfort of our own home? Especially with our waistbands slowly expanding and the tempting over-sized cardigans calling our names from the chair we nonchalantly threw them over yesterday.

Does making an effort in our appearance when working from home impact how we feel day to day or enhance our perceived professionalism by our boss and co-workers?

Recently, I had an after work Zoom wine with a girlfriend. There she was, smart black top, hair done, earrings glittering, all wrapped up with a swipe of purple lipstick. She looked great, and just what she would have turned up in if we’d caught up for Friday drinks IRL. After our initial hello’s, she peered down at me over her glass and asked, and I quote, “did you go for a run at lunchtime?”

I scoffed into my $5 Aldi Merlot. Me? Run? I took a good look at myself on screen and saw exactly what prompted her to ask the question. A scraggly ponytail, my newly formed zits proudly on show and a ratty yellow and black polar fleece hoodie that came free with a subscription of Nat Geo my husband purchased 5 years ago. It was…eye opening. To make matters worse, on Friday afternoons my work runs a 30 minute happy hour. So the whole company had witnessed my “sweaty runners” look.

I’ve been showing up to work like this for the last 3 months. It’s lockdown, I told myself, we’re going through a pandemic, who cares.

Oh. I have been looking like this for the last 3 months. Client’s have seen me like this, on multiple occasions. My boss sees me on the regular with an unkempt mullet of slimy hair and a jumper that should have gone through the wash last week.

To give you a starting point, even though it doesn’t seem this way, I am a clean person (promise). I have always dressed appropriately for work. Hair washed, straightened, minimal makeup, unstained clothes. Professional but casual. You wouldn’t say I’m the height of workplace fashion but you wouldn’t bat an eye-lid if I met you for a coffee.

You only need to google work from home fashion to find a lot of buzz and a plethora of quotes from various psychologists and ‘experts’ stating that we must be dressing for work each day. It allows us to put boundaries between our personal and professional lives, give us more confidence at work, adds to our productivity levels, forms positive habits. All of these factors combined contributes wonders to our mental health.

Well, these helpful hints from the ‘powers that be’ have been clashing with my own personal WFH mantra which is:

Throw-on-whatever-is-semi-clean-that-also-allows-for-a-quick-lie-down-at lunchtime.

But my friend’s shocked response to my new look had me thinking that maybe I should rethink my mantra and it catapulted me into taking some action.

So over the course of the next week I tried these 3 tips for upping my game when working from home, to see if they a) made a difference to how I felt and performed and b) if anyone at work noticed, cared or responded to it at all.

3 tips for looking more professional when WFH. (according to the internet)

  1. Wear something you would leave the house in
  2. Wear soft loose fitting garments (read: that AREN’T track pants)
  3. Add colours and accessories to boost your mood

I have to caveat that I work in a digital marketing agency, so corporate and stuffy is never the brief, but neither is high-fashion.

Monday

I’ve got 3 meetings today. A company all-hands, a 1 on 1 with my boss and a project catch up. I’ve got this.

I washed and straightened my hair on Sunday ready to start the week fresh, just like pre-COVID me would have. I don’t wear any makeup because frankly I hate wearing it. I put on a dress and a nice necklace and sit down ready to tackle the day.

How I feel > Initially a bit stupid and self conscious, like I’m going to get caught out and people will draw attention to me. I don’t feel any extra motivation to “seize the day” or smash out extra work because I’ve swapped the sweats for a dress.

How people respond > Crickets, nothing, nada, zilch. No one mentions how put together I look today. Are they being polite or do they genuinely not care? Time will tell.

Tuesday

I decide to put some makeup on to see if that makes a difference. A swipe of mascara, a dab of bronzer and some lip balm and I’m good to go. I also wear soft clothes that I can stretch out in, but could still drop everything, pick up my keys and head out the door if need be.

How I feel > Nice and normal. I find I’m looking more at my little screen self than I usually would. Does it up my productivity levels, not really. I’m more focused on trying not to rub my eyes and smear mascara all over my face.

How people respond > Today someone asks “are you wearing a blazer?” and another person chimes in with “oooo, very profesh”. It’s not a blazer but an cardigan wrap with lapels, my take on wfh chic. So at least a little more traction today.

Wednesday

No meetings today. I feel like scheduling one in so my look doesn’t go unnoticed. I’ve opted for standard brunching attire - brand name athleisure wear accompanied with some big earrings and a new sporty, but groomed, half up-half down hairstyle. I’ve ditched the makeup already, it’s a no from me.

How I feel > This is more like it. I’m getting through a bunch of my workload while feeling motivated to be active and healthy. Something about looking like I’ve just drunk 10 green juices and got up at 5.30am by choice makes me want to get sh*t done.

How people respond > As I don’t have any meetings today I ask my husband what he thinks. He asks why I’m wearing earrings with gym gear and if I’ve taken the dog out for a walk already.

Thursday

To make up for the lack of interaction yesterday, I’ve put on a bit of red lipstick. I don’t usually wear lipstick, at all, not even to the office, so I’m going for “look at me” vibes. My hair is past its due by date, but I had Pilates this morning and didn’t have time to wash it before work, so I put it up in a slicked back topknot (very different from my usual messy bun).

How I feel > Good God, I feel like an Instagram hustler working on some amazing content looking chic and put together on my laptop. I even make a influencer favourite, iced coffee, to get me going and find I’m a bit more creative with what I’m producing.

How people respond > My professional topknot gets lost in the background blur of a Zoom chat. My co-worker asks where my hair went and laughs, saying I look bald. No one notices the lipstick.

Friday

Winding down, I put on my new mustard coloured linen button down and sit outside with my plants to round out the week. I usually wear a combination of black, white and navy, so I thought I’d add splash of colour for some mood boosting creativity. My hair is washed again and air-dried for a more casual Friday feel.

How I feel > Light and fresh. I am channelling the weekend so my work is…a little unproductive. I’m too busy looking up restaurants to try and planning my next overseas trip.

How people respond > Someone says “I like that colour on you”. I will count this as a win, a lovely win that brightens my Friday.

The Verdict

In some instances, putting more of a conscious effort into what I’m wearing and looking after myself does make a difference. I think I might have let it all lapse too much on the scruffy side of things. It was also a bit of fun to break the usual habit of throwing on any old thing. A big plus for me was being able to leave the house at a moments notice.

As for other people, it seems they don’t really care too much how I show up on camera. I think we’re all a bit egotistical in the sense that we think others care a lot more about what we’re doing than they actually do. But it must be nice for them not to have to look at the ‘Creature From the Black Lagoon’ every day, which subconsciously MUST entitle me to some extra professional points.

I’m going to take a few of these lessons into my WFH repertoire and put in an effort to show up and at least look presentable. And no, I won’t show you any of my before pictures, so don’t ask.

--

--

Genevieve McMullen

Writing about practical skills to nail your digital/UX copywriting. I also bang on about outdated workplace practices and culture.