Getting a grip on reality…

Fat To Fab Over 50
2 min readDec 14, 2016

--

Day 376 — #OMG #Hallmark movies. LOVE them. Sappy. Saccharine. Destination holiday viewing. I love seeing them. I love crying to them. My husband is…well…trying to ignore me while watching them. In between heavy heaving, eye rolling that would blind mere mortals, and shouting the ending before it even happens (subtle foreshadowing is not something Hallmark movies do), my husband tries to tolerate my guilty addition.

I watch them. Repeatedly. And cry just like it’s the first time I’ve seen them. Just like the best movie ever made, #Anchorman. I laugh to the point of peeing my pants (too late TMI alert — sorry) every single freakin’ time I see the dog “Baxter” being drop kicked off the bridge. Do not call #PETA. It’s just a film.

But that is kind of my point. These are films. Not real life. All the drama and all the lovey dovey stuff is not real. It is a narrative. It’s entertainment. A fiction. To tell a story. Not real life. It’s just like those dreamy, etherial Julia Roberts Lancome commercials or the dramatic, sensual Dior perfume spots featuring Charlize Theron. Actresses are just that. They act. They ACT!

Getting a grip on reality is super important at this point in my journey. Many times I have thought I’ve totally “got this.” But I don’t. Every day is a struggle. Every meal is a decision point. Every single damn time. I’m looking forward to a time when this is no longer a choice. It’s a lifestyle. #automatic, #hallmarkchannel

#FatToFabOver50, #ThugDietLife, #elitehealth, #elitefitforever, #stressresponse, #conciergemedicine, #BillCortright, #weightlossjourney, #BeElite, #MTWABP, #workingwomen, #emptynest, #dieting, #selfdiscovery, #fitspo, #personalgrowth, #life, #midlife, #alterego, #boomers, #babyboomers, #selfactualization, #motherhood, #gymlife

@EliteHealth, @EliteFitForever, @BillCortright, @StevenSchnur, @JaclynTolentino, @AlexCortrightRD, @ErikBustillo, @MiamiBeachBiz, @EliteHealthNation, @PrimalFitMiami

--

--

Fat To Fab Over 50

Business woman 50+ on a mission to lose 100 lbs. Reclaiming my life and sharing my journey to help others without shame spiraling out of control.