Best uses of the IKEA RÅSKOG cart

Fave Faves
3 min readJul 29, 2019

--

by Tabitha Sukhai, FOLIO: Top Women in Media honoree, Digital Content Innovator of the Year, and All-Around Cool Lady

IKEA RÅSKOG cart
Photos: IKEA.com

The simple RÅSKOG cart from IKEA is basic in the best sense of the word. It’s easy to take this $29.99 cart from dorm room to craft cart or bar cart. Just ask Pinterest. Somehow, I’ve got about 25,000 followers over there and my community is always sharing amazing ideas with me. Here are a few of my absolute favorite uses of the IKEA RÅSKOG cart, all sourced from the amazing “finders and keepers” over at Pinterest:

An alternative to a nightstand

IKEA cart nightstand idea
via Pinterest/ Homey Oh My

Homey Oh My is incredible. A clean-white shade makes this cart a flawless fit for this bedroom.

Here’s the same “nightstand” idea in a dorm room

via Pinterest/ I Heart Organizing

Or, use it as an end table in the living room

IKEA ROSKOG Cart ideas Ikeahacks
via Pinterest

I can’t tell you how many times I thought I was being really clever by tucking my laptop between couch cushions only to ultimately endanger the crap out of it. I almost always forget I left it there and sit on it, or someone else does. This is such a practical and creative placement for this cart if you can get over the absence of traditional furniture. Makes an amazing catchall to keep your laptop (and other stuff) off the couch. Remember, you can paint it to match your decor.

Succulent garden

IKEA Raskog cart garden idea
via Pinterest/ Succulents and Sunshine

Plant a portable garden that you can move from room to room, or park it in the corner of your kitchen or living area.

Assemble an herb garden

via Pinterest/ The Little Street

Using the cart as a place to plant means that you can move your plants into the sun easily, or even roll herbs out to the grill for a cookout.

Bar cart

via Pinterest/ Verily Mag

Some jet-black paint makes for a very adult-looking cocktail station. Consider using a cart as a coffee station, too.

Craft cart with magnetic clips and add ons

via Pinterest/ Scrap Impulse

This blogger has used hooks, hanging containers, and magnetic clips to optimize this cart. Perfectly-sized bins in the bottom tier offer some handy compartmentalization.

Cleaning cart

IKEA cleaning cart RASKOG — ikea.com
via Pinterest/ Kitchn

In larger homes or shared apartments, you can keep all of your cleaning products corralled in one convenient place for easy access in any cleaning emergency.

YOUR TURN: Got some ideas of your own? Share them in a comment below

--

--

Fave Faves

Former lifestyle, shopping, and shelter editor doin’ it for herself. Shop with me and you’ll be supporting free, independent media! All posts by Tabitha Sukhai