Interview with Women in Science: Meet Shavonn Whiten

Feed the Future
7 min readFeb 10, 2020

--

This International Day of Women and Girls in Science, we interviewed six women in science from the United States Agency for International Development to discover their journeys in this field. Meet Shavonn Whiten and learn more about her experience and advice for the next generation of women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

Can you give us a brief introduction of yourself?

My name is Shavonn Whiten and I am an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Science and Technology Policy Fellow (STPF) with placement at the United States Agency for International Development’s Bureau of Food Security. I am originally from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and have a doctoral degree in entomology from Texas A&M University, where my research specialty was mosquito and mosquito-borne disease control using genetic engineering. Now, I have transitioned from the public health side to focusing more on agriculture and overseeing USAID’s investments in agricultural biotechnology programming to decrease poverty and malnutrition in developing countries.

How did you get into STEM and into your line of work specifically?

My STEM path ultimately picked me, and it was my continuous willingness to try something new and to not be afraid of traveling to unfamiliar territory that ultimately helped me reach the position and become the person, and more specifically - the scientist I am today. I was a curious child growing up and always wanted to know how things worked. Growing up in the South, that could have been seen as disrespectful or prying, but my parents were open to it and encouraged and engaged my curiosity and creativity. They purchased my first microscope for me that I would use for hours in the backyard and still have to this day. This really started my passion for science and deeper understanding, which transitioned to scientific investigation through experimentation.

I pursued my undergraduate studies with a biology major and a chemistry minor at Xavier University of Louisiana. Immediately after my undergraduate training, I had the eye-opening opportunity to participate in a summer program in Ghana at the University of Cape Coast sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). I conducted organic chemistry research to analyze the differences between pharmaceutical medicine and locally-used complementary medicine. While I originally participated in the program as a way to improve and distinguish myself as an applicant to graduate programs, I took so much more out of the experience and gained a newfound respect for the West African/Ghanaian culture, a culture that to my surprise was very similar to my southern Louisiana culture. Likewise, participating in this program opened my eyes to a whole world of opportunities and issues that I wanted to tackle, and ultimately served as the starting point for where I am today.

This experience sparked my interest in public health research, and once I returned to the United States, my unique path continued to unfold. Out of all the places in the United States, I moved to Bozeman, Montana to accept a biological scientist technician position with U.S. Geological Surveys and ultimately began my master’s in entomology at Montana State University, as back in Ghana I was inspired to continue helping address health disparities through research. During my master’s program, I conducted research on the efficacy of pyrethroid insecticides for mosquito control under warming climate conditions. This was interesting, but most interesting was transitioning to a vector biology lab for my doctoral training and using genetic engineering to control the spread of mosquitoes and mosquito-borne diseases without having to use insecticides.

My entomology research has definitely supported me in my current role. My work now focuses on increasing crop production and addressing malnutrition and poverty, which directly linked with my experience in ways that I would never have originally expected it to. There are also wider implications of my work in terms of fostering inclusivity. As an African American female, I am hoping to blaze a path for other entomology researchers and more generally women and persons of color.

What do you see as some of the most exciting projects, innovations and/or initiatives in your career field in the next few years?

I think there is a lot of potential for innovation with mosquito and mosquito-borne disease control using gene-editing techniques. Likewise, I think there are and will continue to be significant advances in the engineering of crops that incorporate pest resistance and are heat- and drought-tolerant, and more generally better able to withstand the effects of climate variability.

As it relates to agricultural biotechnology, I am most excited about recent and future opportunities to continue engaging with in-country partners and implementers as many of the projects I oversee in my role as an International Research Advisor are nearing the commercialization phase of product development. I am most passionate about leveling the playing field for global access to science innovation and technologies.

Overall, what I look forward to the most is scientific innovation coupled with greater and more effective communication to people who can benefit from it the most. I strongly believe that a great scientist is one who can translate science in a manner that allows others to understand how the science works and benefits it has the potential to yield.

What advice do you have for young girls who want to pursue STEM?

My first piece of advice to young girls interested in pursuing STEM is to never let anyone dim your light. Stay confident and true to yourself and your interests.

Another piece of advice is to identify individuals who can help you connect with other people in your STEM field of study. Shadowing individuals in the healthcare field has personally been an integral part of my STEM journey. While many of my childhood shadowing experiences took me from wanting to be a veterinarian, OB/GYN, neonatologist, cardiologist, to research scientist, they have all given me valuable perspectives and experiences that have helped me shape my efforts throughout my academic and professional career. I also found it really helpful to identify individuals who are willing to share their story with you and who are willing to mentor you through your best and worst experiences.

I also believe that it is important to listen to other people’s suggestions and make your own decisions based on the “data” that you collect. This is personally how I got into research and joined my first lab, which catapulted my interest and career as a researcher.

Another piece of advice: Remain curious and challenge what you know and what other people know.

The biggest piece of advice I have is to fail and fail often, but always reflect and think about the lessons learned. People tend to see my successes as the aspects of myself that have defined me, which is true to a certain extent, but it was also my hard work and failures that helped me reflect on and improve myself. My failures are just as important of a contributor to who I am today. Diamonds only form under great pressure!

And for women and people of color, my special advice to you is to identify who you are and never lose sight of that. Life will help you evolve, but it is important to keep holding on to your core values that, in part, make you who you are.

What has been one of your most notable work experiences at USAID?

I started at USAID in September of last year, and since then I have had the chance to be out in the field interacting with embassies, in-country implementers, and local citizens who are benefiting from the work we do here at USAID. Traveling the world and getting to personally see USAID’s impact at the local, state and national level has been one of the most gratifying parts of my job. At USAID, I am always reminded of a quote from one of my female mentors: “In order to be successful internationally, you need to be able to calibrate and quickly recalibrate.” My experiences have taught me that to be received and trusted by others from different cultures and backgrounds, it is important to keep in mind what shapes your identity and points of view as an American, while also making an effort to understand different perspectives.

I initially learned of USAID during my first year of graduate school, as I had the opportunity to meet and develop friendships with international students that were funded to undergo training in the United States, after which they returned to their home countries to improve agricultural processes and economic benefits. This opened my eyes to the global impact that USAID has. Since joining the USAID community in September 2019, I have come to understand that our generation is the future of science, not just in the United States but around the world, and with this realization, we must stand at the front line bridging the gaps for science to benefit the world!

The views and opinions expressed in this blog are those of the interviewees and do not reflect the official policy or position of the initiative.

--

--

Feed the Future

U.S. Government initiative addressing the root causes of global hunger & poverty to improve #foodsecurity & #nutrition around the world.