Joe Weider (1919–2013): Shaping the World of Modern Bodybuilding

My number one icon since I was a teenager and into my 40s

Felix Abur
5 min readJun 6, 2023

Today, I was having a nostalgic chat with a childhood buddy, reminiscing about the good old days when we first started pumping iron. That was way back in the late ’90s, and you know what? No matter how many mentors we had, one name always stood out: Joe Weider. Of course, Arnold Schwarzenegger was right up there too. It’s always Arnold, isn’t it?

The Pioneering Visionary

When we talk about the world of bodybuilding, Joe Weider is the true OG — a pioneer and visionary who left an incredible mark. He touched lives all over the globe, including mine. In my country, when we say someone is a “Weider,” it means they’re muscular, shredded, and a total gym buff. I’m in my 40s now, but I’ve been a huge fan of the “Weider” culture since I was around 17.

Born on November 29, 1919, in Montreal, Canada, Joe Weider would go on to revolutionize the fitness industry and shape the modern sport of bodybuilding. His influence is still felt today, and boy, did he change the game.

Joe Weider’s passion for fitness ignited when he was just a young’un. As a teenager, he became obsessed with the idea of building a strong, muscular physique. Sound…

--

--

Felix Abur

Backlink Expert, freelance writer, digital marketer, and top writer in woodworking. SEO content at https://inboundbizkit.com email felixo_abur@yahoo.com