How to write during a crisis

Film4
6 min readMar 27, 2020

--

Forget penning one of history’s great plays about power struggle (the Bard didn’t have TikTok, of course he banged out King Lear during his quarantine), it’s a struggle to write a coherent email at a desk that’s also your bed.

So we called on the pros to offer their advice on how to stay focused, sane and somewhat productive during the pandemic. If you’re a writer, a filmmaker or someone just trying to keep their brain a bit more engaged, read on…

Paul Dano in Ruby Sparks facing the perilous blank page.

Edgar Wright

If you are finding it hard to write then do what I do when I need an escape: watch a film you have meant to watch forever, or rewatch a classic that inspires you in your work. This also applies to books, albums, graphic novels, TV shows or whatever art happens to inspire you. So if you are stuck, there’s no shame in disappearing into something you love. I heartily recommend it.

Edgar is a screenwriter and director whose credits as a writer include Hot Fuzz, Scott Pilgrim vs the World, Baby Driver and the upcoming Film4-backed feature Last Night in Soho. Spaced, which Edgar directed, is currently available on All4.

Prano Bailey-Bond

At the best of times (let alone during a pandemic) social media can be a massive distraction when writing. When I wrote my last feature I used an app called Self Control, which allows you to block specific websites for up to 24 hours. I use this to block social media sites and stay focused.

Recognising when you are ‘fatiguing’ is also important. Keeping hours to a set time of the day. I write best in the morning so, as long as I’m not on a crazy deadline, I’ll have a stop point in the day to watch a film, read or do something that allows ideas to percolate. This makes the hours I am writing more productive!

Prano is a writer-director who was named a Screen Star of Tomorrow 2018, has been shortlisted for the Sundance Writers Lab and is currently in post-production with her debut feature, Censor, a psychological horror backed by Film4.

Stephen Merchant

I like to “clear the decks” of admin before I set to work. I spend 45 mins answering emails or online banking or whatever else is on my to-do list, then I start writing for the next few hours and ignore non-urgent emails or texts. Most things can wait.

Stephen is an actor, writer, director, comedian and (according to his website) website operator. His credits as a writer include The Office, Cemetery Junction and Film4-backed comedy Fighting With My Family.

Luna Carmoon

Personally I cannot write every day. I don’t set a time for it either, otherwise I feel guilty and that’s just unproductive and cruel altogether. I’m a bit scrambled eggs upstairs so sometimes staying focused is difficult for me, usually, if I’m feeling lost or overwhelmed, if I then have a conversation about a project with someone close to me then I feel excitedly focused again.

I can only really write when I get this hum in my gut. However I can help the hum start to stir by absorbing as much content that feels like the tone of whatever I want to create. Then you have all these fabrics of information/inspiration to keep looking back on for whatever you’re writing. These are the days I love most — falling down loopholes, discovering new worlds, histories, the lives of people I admire or the world of the project I’m working on.

I would say motivation for me it comes in ebbs and flows, like most people, but reminding yourself that you don’t have to do it but that you do it because you enjoy it relinquishes this pressure. Also I’ve learned that if you’re going in a direction physically, ideas form naturally, so if you have a garden pace around it or perhaps roll around your living room for a bit.

A self-taught writer-director, Luna was one of six filmmakers selected to make a film as part of the ShortFLIX initiative searching for underrepresented talent in the UK run by Creative England. She is also a fellow of the Sundance Ignite programme. Her next short film Shagbands has been backed by Film4.

Amrou Al-Kadhi

As a professional writer working on commissions, I tend to centre my writing around deadlines, which often makes it stressful and causes it to feel laborious. During these uncertain times, now more than ever I want to recommend writing for pleasure, to remind myself why I love this craft so much. If ever there was a time to write that script you felt was too risky, or to come up with a treatment that you thought ‘meh, no one would ever commission this,’ — now’s the time. One of the silver linings getting me through this period is all the zany, magical scripts that will come out of it.

Amrou is a queer, Iraqi, non-binary writer, performer and filmmaker with several TV shows in development and is currently developing his debut feature.

Rebecca Lenkiewicz

I would advise rationing how much news you feel able to listen to. Especially if every time you listen to it you feel less able to think straight…

If you can write, that’s great, but if you’re just too seismically distracted then don’t beat yourself up and instead catch up on all the films — past and present- you’ve always wanted to watch or rewatch. Also find solace in nature and fresh air, away from screens. And mugs of tea, toasted pitta bread and apples must not run out.

Rebecca is a British playwright and screenwriter, whose credits in film include Ida, Disobedience and Colette.

Koby Adom

During self isolation, it is key to remain positive. The best way to do so is setting goals to look forward to. Personally, I’ve set goals such as:

1. Getting all the unwritten ideas that I have been dreaming of for months (if not years) down on paper. Writing log lines for them if not full treatments.

2. Getting any drafts done for writing that’s already commissioned so I can get paid! (Money is also a great motivation to get things done).

3. Setting a goal of how many films and TV shows to watch — I get through lots of content to get the creative juices flowing. Either dissecting them into story structures to help me shape my own stories or I just sit back, relax and enjoy them for what they are.

4. Being other people’s script editor! I set a goal of how many people’s scripts I can get through. It’s sometimes easier to critically analyse other people’s work because I’m not too close to their material. I can see the piece for what it is and I can be clear on what I think would enhance it. Then, when I go back to my own work, I can apply some of the notes as and when I see the opportunity. Reading other people’s scripts not only helps them out big time but it helps me solve the issues in my own work too.

5. As I am a Christian, I do a lot of praying, reading my bible, listening to gospel music and meditating. Spending time with Christ always lifts my spirits to heights I couldn’t reach other wise and my motivation and productivity soar through the roof.

As writers we are used to working to deadlines so we have to find replacements for those during this period. Lastly, our careers can progress at light speed when we are in the thick of things and I feel like self isolation is a great time to slow things down a little. I have dealt with a lot of things outside of work I was unable to focus on because writing was taking all my attention!

Koby is a writer-director whose short film Haircut was BAFTA longlisted. He then went on to become a Screen Star of Tomorrow. He directed the second half of the BBC series Noughts and Crosses and is currently developing his debut feature.

--

--

Film4

We are the UK’s biggest film channel and have been backing films for over 30 years.