How to find your Dream Job

Finn Antrobus
2 min readOct 8, 2017

--

The future is very important to us.

From our very first days of school, it’s instilled in us that we’re all destined to do one thing for the rest of our lives, and to do it well. The future is also a typical conversation starter: It seems to dominate most of our present lives.

What do you want to do when you’re older? What’s your dream career?

Well, I don’t know the answer to that question, and for a long time that really scared me.

But I do know one thing: My dream job is to not have a dream job. I don’t want to limit myself to a single career.

I’m 19 years old, and you can say all you want about my “little life experience”. I’ve been told on many occasions that I’ve “not seen enough of the world yet”. And sure, they’re probably right: I haven’t seen enough of the world. So how am I supposed to know my dream job?

When I was 15, I wanted to be an artist. I thought that was my dream job. When I was 16 I wanted to be an architect; when I was 17 I wanted to teach maths; when I was 18 I wanted to work for MI5.

If you think you know your “dream job” in life, chances are that’ll change in less than a year. But regardless of what you do, if you work hard, and I mean really hard, you’ll find satisfaction in it.

Your “dream job” could be the work you’re doing right now.

I don’t mean to shut anyone down. It’s a wonderful thing to follow up your hobbies, passions and pastimes into a career. Just be careful.

A lot of the time, a hobby is enjoyable as it’s an outlet from work, and changing an activity from a hobby to a full-time job can leave you with no outlet, no release and not the “dream job” you’d imagined.

Casting that aside, be integral and truly passionate about what you do. You will not find your “dream job”. The job will find you.

--

--

Finn Antrobus

Maths and Spanish student at University of St Andrews. Always asking questions.