Discovering Nikki Giovanni

AChosenGeneration
2 min readJan 23, 2019

--

For all of you that don’t know, I am still eighteen years old. I turn 19 next month, so my days as being eighteen is coming to a fast end. It appears the concept “History” is reviving itself more lately in my life, and therefore it only makes sense that it lays on my mind and heart. I will be presenting a poem I wrote recently in a few days. The name of the poem I will be presenting is “A Black Girl Born in The 21st Century”.

With alot of poetry and history on my mind ( and the fact February is Black History Month) it has led to me digging into the artifacts of the past. They say history repeats itself, and this may be a cliche saying but it is still simple truth. Here I present poetry from as early as the 60’s that were written by the black poetress Nikki Giovanni. Mrs. Giovanni thank you for your catalogue ( without it i wouldn’t be able to read and feed), and for being one of the most talented and fearless poets to ever live❤

--

--

AChosenGeneration

A child of God who loves writing, proud founder of MentorshipRevolution (21st century business), certified life coach, educator, and I am who I am.