I do not recognise computing trends

Dave Sims
1 min readJan 18, 2015

--

So in 1984, i remember somehow meeting someone at UCLA who told me about C, the K&R book, and a BBS he had written in C.

I had heard that C was a great, modern language, and so i wanted to learn it. I figured the best way was to change my BBS to this new one written in C. The UCLA fellow gave me his source code.

The BBS had this capability where users could make directories in their private space and upload/download files there.

I remember one user in particular who uploaded many files to their private space in their account on my BBS. They created a directory structure to organise everything.

I remember thinking, why would they spend all that time storing files on my BBS instead of their own computer?

So that is one example of how i do not recognise trends in computing.

--

--

Dave Sims

CEO of @Floify, Mortgage Automation Platform. Licensed mortgage loan originator, NMLS 1235071.