BREWING KOMBUCHA ISN'T SO SCARY

FoodBiome
4 min readFeb 12, 2015

It took me nearly two years to get the courage to brew my own batch of komucha. I can’t exactly say why I was so scared to brew this awesome #LiveIngredient drink, but I was. With the help of the internet and my recent favorite gift Fermented, I read all that I could fill my head with about this popular drink. And two weeks ago I started my first batch of kombucha.

Have you ever tried the kombucha in the stores? I have and I haven't found one that I have liked. I think that kombucha must be consumed fresh. I think that is why kombucha on tap in becoming very popular. A new store front and restaurant called Big Island Booch has open in Hilo. And one of my favorite restaurants, Cafe Pesto has kombucha on tap too. When I first tasted their sample at Cafe Pesto in December, I knew right then and there it was time for me to brew my first batch.

I texted a friend who said she had been brewing kombucha for several years now, gave me my first SCOBY. And then our librarian who found out that I was interested in brewing kombuch gave me some of her SCOBY. So now I am loaded up on SCOBY.

I took both SCOBYs home and set out to brew my first batch. There are some thing you should know and have before you brew your own kombucha.

First, brew only in clear glass jars, plastic and colored glasses will leach into your brew killing your wonderful SCOBY. Also if you have wide mouth jars it makes it easier to get the SCOBY in and out of the jars. Second, make sure that your surface and your hands are super clean. Third use wooden utensils. Fourth either wear gloves or remove your metal jewelry. The metal in your jewelry can damage your SCOBY. Fifth, have a tea towel or any tight woven cloth, cheese cloth doesn't work, tiny bug will get in and you don’t want that. And a rubber band or kitchen twine to secure the cloth.

The kind of tea you use is very important. Either use black or green tea. Herbal and infused teas do not work. The sugar that you use can be regular white sugar, but if you want to use organic cane sugar go ahead. Water is also very important. Use filtered water. Water that has been treated can kill your SCOBY. You can buy filtered water, or any filter system of your choice to filter tap water. Having more than one SCOBY is a good idea, just in case something hasn't worked out in you first batch. If you don’t have a friend who has an extra SCOBY there is Kefirhood. It is a website that networks people who are looking for or are offering SCOBYs, kefir and water grains and jung. When you get your SCOBY there will be liquid with it. That is called starter tea. Don’t throw it out. You will need it to start your first batch of kombucha.

Here is my first flavored batch of kombucha. Tast so good.

When brewing your kombucha you will either let it ferment one or two time, depending on weather you want to flavor your kombucha. Fermentation periods can be anywhere from a 7 days to 30 days. To keep track of the dates use masking tape on the bottle and write the date your started and the date that you want it to ferment for. I let my kombucha brew for one week and then let the second ferment for five days.

After you have brewed your kombucha you will take two cups of the tea and put your new SCOBY in a jar, this liquid will be the home for your SCOBY and the liquid will become the starter tea. If you don’t plan on making kombucha all the time that is fine. You will need to feed your SCOBY a tablespoon of sugar every couple of weeks.

You can either leave your kombucha plain or flavor it, stay away from oil base flavor. Use fruits and veggies. Flavoring with fruits are the best. Process the fruit in a blender or food processor and put through a sieve.If you do use veggies make sure they are softened and have gone a fine sieve. Happy fermenting!

Here is a link to a basic kombucha recipe.

--

--

FoodBiome

Sharing knowledge and selling products to help prepare awesome food from healthy live ingredients.