You Are Not the First One to Write

And not the last

Fred Soloy
1 min readJun 17, 2023
hieroglyphic writing on stone
Photo by Isaac Chou on Unsplash

I started to write on the rock cave wall.

They then moved to cuneiform symbols on clay tablets.

I remember when I started hieroglyphic writing. Hieroglyphs were pictorial symbols that represented words. It was a lot of sand around.

Somewhere else began the era of characters representing ideas and concepts. It was challenging with thousands of characters.

The move to a more concise alphabet was a great idea, but no vowels.

Then they added vowels, and it was better.

When they created the printed press, came with it the spread

of knowledge and literacy.

The typewriter arrived, which automated the process of writing.

Writing has evolved fast, and now the use of computers transformed writing, making it easier, faster, and more accessible.

Yes, I am the history of writing, a fascinating journey with thousands of years and counting.

--

--

Fred Soloy

I am a French native, so I wrote about French culture.