Design a Data Table Component | FrontEnd System Design Interview

Frontend Jirachi
3 min readMay 25, 2022

I’m starting a series to practice the frontend system design interview questions. This is the very first article and I plan to work on other questions like Design a WYSIWYG editor, YouTube, Facebook, Netflix, etc.

Check out the YouTube video that I made for this practice:

Mock up

I plan to discuss about:

1. Requirements
2. API/Data flow
3. Component architecture / UI State & Props
4. Performance
5. Accessibility
6. I18N
7. Cross-device

Functional Requirements:

1. Table should have a header
2. Table columns should be configurable (Name, width, order, sortable, editable)
3. Table rows should be selectable(multi-select, single-select)
4. Table columns could include JSX Element or primitive types.
4. Table could have a filter (client side vs server side)
5. Table could have a…

--

--

Frontend Jirachi

I’m excited about front end development. I write about UI, Frontend & SD. 👣 Frontend engineer @MAANG, ex-@AWS. https://youtu.be/4_DcDjPK6R8