Interview with Frutti Dino Character Designer Kyung-Joon Lee

Frutti Dino
6 min readNov 10, 2021

--

Hello, supporters! I’m back again with a great interview. This is Angela, Messanger of Frutti Dino.

These days, the Frutti Dino team is very busy so that the project can go on schedule. I also shook a leg to deliver the project news that everyone would be curious about. Today, I interview our character art designer Lee Kyung-Joon, who designed the Dino characters.

Angela: Hello Mr. Lee~

Kyung-Joon: Hello Angela~

Angela: It’s a pleasure to meet you! Please briefly introduce yourself~

Kyung-Joon: Nice to meet you too Angela~ My name is Kyung-Joon Lee, a designer working under the pen name of ‘Blue Shark’ and I am from Korea ~^^ I started working as a designer through social media channels such as Facebook in 2015, mainly working in 2D visual design, and designing illustrations, logos, and characters. I am open to any field where I can show my creativity. One of my new challenges is Frutti Dino.

Angela: You must have done a lot of work before. Could you introduce some of your most representative designs?

Kyung-Joon: Yes, Sure. My designs include OP.GG and Blue Shark, which you may be familiar with. In the case of OP.GG, LOL (League of Legends) is so popular and many people are enjoying it, so many people have probably heard of it. Also, my representative work is <Blue Shark>Thanks to this character, it led me to design Frutti Dino characters. ^^

<OP.GG Logo Variation>
<Blue Shark Character Design>

Angela: Your character is so cute overall. It must have had a lot of influence when designing the character of Frutti Dino. When you first heard about the concept of Frutti Dino, what did you focus on on the design?

Kyung-Joon: When I first received information about dinosaur character design, what popped into my head was it would be difficult to express a dinosaur character simply in just one way. Since the dinosaurs do not only have various shapes, but also there are in different types such as two-legged dinosaurs, four-legged dinosaurs, and flying dinosaurs. Also, different dinosaurs have different diets. During the process of development, I eventually decided to categorize them as herbivorous, carnivorous, and omnivorous.

<Character Designer Kyung-Joon Lee>

Angela: I think your idea is really good! So, what is the most difficult part of working on a Dino Character?

Kyung-Joon: I like the Frutti Dino project and I am attached to the character as well, so I am having fun working on it. If I have to point out the hardest part, I am working with three body types to make Frutti Dino have unique NFT shapes, and the workload is a bit heavy. HAHA~.I am working hard as I am one of the users who is waiting to meet Frutti Dino soon as well.

Angela: Oh, you seem to be so busy with the current schedule! Thank you so much for all your efforts XD.

Which Dino character are you the most affectionate? (Would it be… me?!😉)

Kyung-Joon: To be honest, the banana Dino was drawn at the beginning of the work, so I’m more attached to and friendly toward that Dino.

<Oh~ maybe he is working overnight! Kyung-Joon Lee is so into Dinos>

Angela: So, do you expect the banana Dino to have the highest NFT value? ^^

Kyung-Joon: Wouldn’t it be dragon fruit Dino? HAHA, apart from the value of each character, the fact that NFT gives the character vitality and can be traded between users is very interesting and new to me.

Angela: Dino characters are already being loved by many people through the community.~ Are you going to make goods other than games as well?

Kyung-Joon: it’s up to the company’s decision, but I think it would be nice to make various types of fancy items such as badges or keyrings that can be collected in the future. Since the Dino characters have various designs and concepts, I think it would be attractive enough to be made into figures or art toys as well. Right now, I need to focus on creating game characters, but I look forward to seeing such goodies in the future.

Angela: Since Frutti Dino is a global project, it must be difficult to reflect the characteristics of different regions with different graphic preferences.

Kyung-Joon: I know that certain regions prefer cute characters, and some regions don’t. It is not easy to satisfy everyone, so I am creating various characters and parts as many as so that people can choose their favorite character to suit their tastes.

<Kyung-Joon who’s working so hard>

Angela: Currently, there are a total of 10 types of fruits. Do you feel disappointed because a particular fruit is not included in the plan?

Kyung-Joon: Personally, I was disappointed by kiwi Actually it was also on the list at first because it is a popular fruit. However, it was out because of its color and variety. It was a little disappointing, but I’ll try my best to draw the final 10 fruits. ^^

Angela: Dino NFT Sales are coming soon. If you were to buy an NFT Dino, what kind and for how much would you buy?

Kyung-Joon: Actually, I generally prefer mixed things more, so I think I’ll buy a Dino with various parts mixed rather than a pure Dino. After purchasing these Dinos, I think it will be very fun to develop them with Crafting System or Partial Upgrade System through later games, and wouldn’t that be more valuable? ^^ Since the value of Dino cannot be measured simply in terms of money, I would like to purchase and bring up Dinos as many as possible.

Angela: Yes, that’s right. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share with us. Lastly, any words to the supporters of the Frutti Dino project?

Kyung-Joon: I am working on this project with a lot of passion, so I hope all of you would continue to follow and support us. Please look forward to Frutti Dino.

So far, we have met Kyung-Joon Lee, who designed the character of Frutti Dino. When I met him in person, I realized that the project is in full swing. I’ll come back to you soon with more information so please look forward to our next interview.

Thank you.

--

--

Frutti Dino

Let's Frutti Dino to Earn! A New Paradigm of Play to Earn Games