1961 Babes In Toyland: What the actual F…

Future Philanthropic
3 min readDec 22, 2023

I know it was the 60’s, but c’mon

Turner Classic Movies Babes In Toyland

It was recommended in Holiday movies, so we figured, why not? At the beginning of December, the t.v. is all things Christmas and winter. It feels a little differently this year because we are in Hawaii and the majority of our decorations are at our house in Florida. However, we did buy a Palm Christmas Tree.

I know that I saw the 1986 remake of this movie, but mostly blocked it out because I remember it just being weird. The two must be similar. As I watched the ’61 version the feeling of memory kept arising and I know it wasn’t from watching it. Anyway…

It is a musical, so I felt certain my husband was going to change his mind and select a new movie. He let it play. Then our daughter commented that she loves how silly these old musicals are. This made me happy, having grown up on musicals…she was in for a treat! haha

Then a song came on that raised a big question mark for me. Mary starts singing about how she is too dumb to do math. “I can’t do the sum.” “Why am I dumb?” Several minutes of this air-brain girl singing about how hard and confusing math is. The result? She has to marry that old creepy guy who is 40 years her senior.

I was willing to let this slide as I made a big joking deal about how my daughter needed to study math or…

--

--

Future Philanthropic

I am writing about making money, paying off debts, getting healthier and happier, and all the questions and thoughts I have along the way.