I’m Confused About “Big D Energy”

GB Dare
4 min readAug 8, 2022
Phallic-looking cacti against a yellow background.
Photo by rotekirsche 20: https://www.pexels.com/photo/green-cactuses-on-yellow-wall-background-5438822/

I keep hearing talk about certain people having “Big D energy”, and I’m confused. I’m in my mid-fifties now, and it’s hard to keep up with all this pop culture stuff.

Part of the problem with being… “mature” is that things that had one meaning when I was younger sometimes acquire different meanings over time.

For example, when I was a kid, “gaslight” was what we read by at night, since electric lights had not been invented yet, and now it’s a quaint and charming name for psychological manipulation. How times change!

So, you see, I’ve heard of “Big D” before, just in different contexts than it’s apparently being used now.

First of all, I live in Texas, and everyone knows that Big D is Dallas. That is, unless you’re referencing the C&W song by Mark Chesnutt in which he’s “going through the Big D, and I don’t mean Dallas”, in which case he’s singing about divorce.

But neither Dallas nor divorce seem to apply to what these folks are talking about with this Big D energy thing.

Comedian Pete Davidson is frequently said to have Big D energy, and he’s famously from Staten Island, New York — a long way from Dallas. He was engaged to Ariana Grande at one point, but they called it off and he’s never…

--

--

GB Dare

Just a regular human writer musing on a variety of topics, including health and fitness, sexuality, and the general dysfunction of the world.