My journey to the Himalayas

GTMB
4 min readJul 17, 2024

--

Hi there, before you start reading, here’s a humble request to consider supporting me on my journey to educating children in the Himalayas. I do not use Instagram/TikTok/Twitter/Snapchat and would appreciate it if you could share it around so more people could help me enable better lives for the beautiful people here. Here is my Patreon

Thanks in Advance

G

In May 2022, I took a leap of faith and quit my full-time job, driven by the dream of a less stressful life, freelancing, and biking around India. My journey as a digital nomad had already taken me 20,000 kilometers across the country, living in various states until I felt the urge to move on. My last stop was the picturesque Himachal Pradesh.

Freelancing granted me more free time than I had anticipated, as I worked with clients from different time zones on projects that didn’t demand much of my bandwidth. This newfound freedom sparked a sense of adventure. Whether it was the allure of freedom, a bout of boredom, or sheer excitement, I set my sights on Ladakh, eager to live by the foot of the Himalayas. As someone who thrives on unique experiences, the idea of volunteering at a school in Ladakh captivated me. I pictured myself sharing tales of living in the Himalayas and teaching kids for free.

However, post-COVID realities made finding such opportunities challenging. Emails to NGOs often led to disappointing replies —

Convincing people of my genuine intentions to help, with no strings attached, was tougher than I had imagined.

Not one to give up easily, I reached out to several schools and finally received a response from Druk Padma Karpo School. They welcomed my offer to help, at my own expense, but their gratitude was enough for me. And ofcourse, once I got there, being able to change the lives of children was more fulfilling than anything I had ever experienced. Thus began my journey to Ladakh.

From Himachal, I set out on my Apache RTR 200 motorbike, carrying all my belongings and two plastic bottles of petrol. Despite knowing the route was perilous, devoid of mobile network, and being ignorant about Ladakh’s altitude challenges, my excitement overshadowed my apprehensions. I relied on local advice:

  1. be cautious on the rough roads
  2. avoid drinking flowing water initially
  3. and stay hydrated under the intense sun.

The journey was arduous, with 12 hours of riding on the first day and another 6 hours on the next. The desolate landscape, scarce vehicles, and rough terrain were daunting, yet the sheer beauty of the surroundings moved me to tears. It was as if I had stepped onto another planet, where even the sight of rocks was a profound, otherworldly experience.

Here are some images from my journey. My apologies for the quality since back then, all I could afford to own was a Samsung M31s.

If you like my story, feel free to support me on my Patreon.

--

--

GTMB

Hi, I'm GT. I live in the Himalayas and trying to do some good for the beautiful folk around here. Primarily, I like teaching and mentoring kids.