New Chapter

Galina Degtyareva
2 min readNov 7, 2017

--

Layers and Dark Dunes on the Surface of Mars (NASA Image Library)

After several years at Maxfield Capital I’m switching gears to corporate VC and joining Gazprom Media to set up an investment vehicle in a big corporate structure.

Gazprom Media is diversified media holding, operating internationally, with a wide-ranging portfolio of news and television brands, radio and print press assets, online resources, as well as film production and advertising companies and 90m audience.

I was always interested in corporate innovations and how startups can impact on the bottom lines of such huge businesses, thus I’m eager to jump into this opportunity.

On my first day at Maxfield, I was challenged to transform the way VC is managing its portfolio. Massive bunch of tasks including permanent portfolio monitoring, business development, fundraising assistance, support on follow-on decisions, exit strategies development gave me a wealth of experience and priceless skills that is impossible to evaluate.

Through that, I’ve had the incredible privilege of learning and working side-by-side with some of the most talented and intelligent people I’ve ever met, I was lucky to be a part of Maxfield’s venture journey.

I couldn’t be more grateful for the experience and relationships — and I’ll carry it with me forever.

All good things must (not) come to an end:)

I am opening a new chapter of my work in [C]VC and let’s see which way the cat jumps!

Yours,
GD

P.S. I’d still be involved in some data-driven research and already preparing some papers, so stay tuned!

--

--