The Story Behind the Arnold Palmer Memorial Trophy

Garden City Games
3 min readJun 15, 2018

--

It’s all about the Cup.

Ask any of our past champions (The Vatican City 2016, Wales 2017), the emotions that are felt when hoisting the coveted Arnold Palmer Memorial Trophy are emotions of pure euphoria. Blood, sweat, and tears are poured into each Olympics and to be rewarded with such an awe-inspiring trophy is a truly special moment.

The Cup itself is made out of an estimated 70 to 90 Arnold Palmer cans that are distributed amongst three layers, and finally topped off with our Gold (plastic) cup. It’s iconic. It’s beautiful. It’s majestic. It’s everything that the Olympics represents. At it’s most basic form, the Arnold Palmer Memorial Trophy represents an unwavering belief in the power of hope.

However, we do understand that our fans might be confused as to why our trophy is made out of Arnold Palmer cans and dedicated to the late legend, Arnold Palmer. Rather than trying to explain the impact that Mr. Palmer has had on our lives, I asked some fellow Olympians about it. Here’s what they said.

What impact has Arnold Palmer had on your life?

The GOAT in his prime.

Johnny Jones, Iceland

What can you say about a guy like that? A true competitor with class and determination which is represented in the trophy that has been named after him. Chasing after the Arnie Trophy is an honor and a pleasure, while hoisting it up is the end goal of any self-respecting Olympic athlete.

Kevin Flaherty, Republic of Ireland

I wouldn’t be the man I am today without the drink he inspired.

Sam Abate, South Africa

Largely because I couldn’t drink beer when I was young, so I drank Arnold Palmer with my boys.

Pat Gavin, Iceland

Arnold Palmer has had a delightful and resurgent impact on my life. As a golfer, I have immense respect for his play and the legend he became. But the greatest impact he had on me was his beverage. So refreshing and delicious, easily a top 3 drink for me. Overall, he’s a good dude with an elite beverage.

Luke Samperi, Team Colorado

Well for starters, it’s the non-alcoholic drink of choice. You always have to remember to pour one out to remember those who could not join us. Arnold Palmer is also who I model my golf game after.

PZ Parsons, Chile

Arnold Palmer is the biggest bargain in the country. It’s the best way you can spend your $1 and I have relied on it to refresh me for years.

Kyle Chouinard, Wales

Arnie? Arnie changed the game. Arnie was the gateway to all of my success ever in anything.

There you have it, folks. 1 man, 1 drink, 1 trophy. The Olympians have said all that needs to be said. Rest in peace, Arnold. We hope to make you proud.

--

--

Garden City Games

Garden City Games 2024: June 21 through 23. Who will take home the vaunted Arnold Palmer Memorial Trophy this year? Tune in to find out.