Guess what Ally McBeal! It’s okay to not have your life together at 30

Melissa Gerson
3 min readMay 11, 2019

It’s officially that moment. Parents are asking for grandchildren. Friends are asking you “how you feel.” You scroll through your Facebook memories realizing you graduated seven years ago. The days are ticking by just as quickly as the Instagram stories in your feed.

Then it hits you: my 20s’ are officially over.

This week I decided to re-watch the 90’s darling show Ally Mcbeal (cue the dancing baby scene).

Ally’s a successful Boston lawyer, has amazing designer clothes, hot boyfriends (looking at you Robert Downey Jr.), and a great group of friends.

However, Ally also suffers from the illness known as triple decade disorder (also referred to as 30). Despite having her six-figured salary and the latest Chanel handbags she believes she should be farther along in her life. She looks in the mirror seeing imaginary wrinkles and finds reasons why her boyfriend hasn’t proposed. WHY ARE THINGS SO WRONG FOR ALLY!

I mean we can’t blame it all on Ally. These stereotypes of women being successful at 23, married by 25, pregnant by 28, and living happily ever have been the idealism brought on by the sitcoms.

Growing up, I wanted to be just like these women in TV shows. I wanted to have a job like Murphy Brown. I’d live in a huge apartment like Carry Bradshaw. I’d be crushing it in New York City like Felicity. I’d have a huge apartment like Monica.

Oh, and RDJ would be serenading me with Police songs.

Well, as Robert Downey Jr. was going through rehabbing his career, I was going through the motions of finding myself in my 20’s.

So, let’s just get this out of the way:

I’m Single. Have 3 roommates. I hate my job. I don’t have health insurance. I live in a crappy apartment. I don’t have an IRA… Oh, and I’m 29.

A decent people my age are going through the motions of adulthood: having kids, becoming home owners, getting married, posting pictures of their babies on social media (you know the type).

Meanwhile I’m in my bed, watching 30 Rock, and eating ice cream for dinner as my noisy roommate does workout tapes in my living room.

If you can’t do the math, I’m a child of the 90’s. I grew up in a time where TV characters get married in their 20’s, have huge places in expensive cities, and then somehow raise four children.

I had a boyfriend. I got an apartment. I even became an Executive Producer at my job.

As I hit the big 3–0 I I’m still striving for want success, money, and a rom-com romance.

But the difference between Ally and me is that my age doesn’t define where I am in life.

It’s okay that I’m 29 and not part of a HOA. It’s okay that I’m figuring out my career direction. It’s okay that I’m dating. It’s okay that I post pictures of traveling.

I’m looking forward to the future. I’m excited about my career change. I’m ready to take on the world.

Even if it’s not by the time August rolls around.

--

--