Ms. Carroll
3 min readSep 4, 2017

--

Nappily Ever After

a few weeks ago Sanaa Lathan snap chatted the process of going blonde for an upcoming roll in the film version of the book Nappily Ever After by Trisha R. Thomas I had never heard of the book until she mentioned it. I checked the book out from the library with high expectations — especially since it’s a series of like 8 books. How or why there’s 8 books I don’t know! The first one was TRASH! It wasn’t completely boring but definitely nothing that needed to be dragged out 8 times. I finished it in two days-I was reading eagerly, waiting for it to pick. up….it never did.

Long story short Venus had long beautiful hair that she was a slave to. She decided to go natural and cut it all off, to find her inner beauty & change her life, I wasn’t convinced. She was still hella insecure.

I also felt like a slave to my hair a few years ago, spending hours in salons, thousands of dollars over the years on weaves, unprofessional stylists and a bunch of other BS. All of it just got overwhelming so I decided to get to the barber shop and get a fade. I wasn’t planning on actually rocking the fade but wearing wigs until my hair grew out into a magical fro. I posted a photo on Instagram with my fade and got a lot of compliments so I decided to wear it and OWN it, which I felt like Venus didn’t do.

I was forced to work on my heart and my attitude and do some soul searching. I no longer had my hair to hide behind, I needed to be beautiful on the inside for real for real. Going natural taught me SO much about beauty, attitude, confidence and self worth. Unfortunately my hair never grew into the big magical fro I was dreaming of because I started bleaching and coloring my hair every other week and it became so damaged it just breaks off instead of retaining length. I’m currently debating if I want to fade it again or what.

I don’t think I’ll be reading any more books in the Nappily series but I’m still anticipating seeing the movie! I love Sanaa and I’m a sucker for romantic comedies.

--

--