Austin Glass
2 min readOct 20, 2017

--

I understand that depending on your life experiences you might want to believe something is true or false.

It just doesn’t seem believable to me that she would go out and take pictures of these guys under the scenario where they were sexually harassing her. She was comfortable enough after being harassed to then stop and pull out her camera and nobody took the camera from her? She didn’t fear for her own safety? That she not only did this but kept on doing it? Its remarkable if its true for sure. Its just incredibly implausible. More believable if she somehow staked these guys out. Had friends relatively close by in case something went wrong. Which is why I asked that question which you considered to be blaming the victim. To me she was no longer a victim, but documenting some kind of sub species of humanity. I suppose if you believe that she just happened to have the camera with her as she went about her daily life and just happened to take this photo collection that she just happened to use to start her career then it could be seen as victim blaming. Too many coincidences for me though.

Though her photos seem too much out of central casting to me. Like it is was playing off of stereotypes from the 80s about what dangerous men looked like. I mean look at the pictures again. I believe that sexual predators are likely more harmless looking which is part of how they are able to operate. People don’t believe it is true about them. The way those pictures are shot you believe the accusations.

I am not trying to deny anything about what women experience though I do think it isnt as frequent as you portray. Though that is based on the current culture and my own life. One where my mother was able to become a successful businesswoman after my dad left her when my brother and I were 4&5. The women I see in my own life from my mother to my wife to my cousins and sisters in laws. None of them are thre victims that are portrayed daily in most online venues. Not that there aren’t lots of victims out there. There are between 150 and 160 million women in this country.

--

--