Baxter

Maxwell Goldbas
2 min readOct 30, 2021

--

In 2014 I started my first job at an AdTech company called Rocket Fuel. The company failed, but I did get to bring my dog Baxter to work often, so I became “Baxter’s owner” or “the guy with the French Bulldog”. They even liked him at Rocket Fuel so much, they put up his mural in the men’s bathroom. Over my career I’ve brought Baxter everywhere I go; offices, farmers markets, shoe shopping, the works. However, as of yesterday, our vet said his chapter will be coming to a close soon.

Everyone thinks their dog is special, so here’s my case for Baxter. In 2017, my sister and cousin were driving out to the beach. Baxter was on my sisters lap in the front seat, and a careless driver T-boned my cousins 2006 Honda civic on the driver side and the car was instantly totaled. Baxter was thrown out the passenger side window from my sisters lap into the traffic intersection. My sister yanked her self out the window, as her adrenaline prevented her from being about to operate a seat belt or a car door. But Baxter simply walked to the nearest corner and waited patient for my sister to come pick him up. Thankfully, no one was hurt.

I have walked Baxter from the Lower East Side, on to the R train, transferred thru Times Square on to the 1 train to my old apartment on the Upper West, all while Baxter didn’t wear his leash. He stayed no more than five feet from my knees. He loves riding the Subway and giving New Yorkers a chance to show their softer side, as they rub his wrinkly face.

These little interactions count for something. If you take him on the subway, you see people riding home from their jobs with bloodshot eyes and tension in their body language, slowly changed to a brief smile and some small talk with a stranger or two. I hope I can continue this after he is gone.

It is odd how dogs teach us to be human. The pressure from jobs, families and friends is buffed down by their happy walk and soft fur. Although it pains me to lose him, I wouldn’t take back any of the afternoons I had with him, doing nothing but enjoying the day.

--

--

Maxwell Goldbas

NYC. Data Engineer at Cherre. Blockchain, AWS, Google Cloud. Virginia Tech. News Junkie. Thorium and Renewable Energy Advocate.