30/60/90 Day Plan for your next IT Leader job

S Munro
2 min readMay 29, 2022

--

The end of my career in IT is imminent. This week I intend to submit the paperwork to join the #GreatResignation. Over the past 37 years, I have worked for six distinct employers, plus several contract assignments. My longest tenure with any one of them was ten years. During the past ten years, I have been in a people-manager role, instead of a hands-on-keyboard technical role. If I write a book about my career in IT, I think the title would be “Embrace the Suck.” While this has been a great occupation, the stress of continuous deployment and the potential for problems at any day or time is stressful. I am grateful for the phenomenal, talented teams I worked with and everything they taught me along the way. For each job switch I made, these are the simple tips I can share with you as you lead and inspire you to bring your best early and often. Set a plan for the first 30, 60, and 90 days. After 90 days, you should be well-established and making an impact in your new role!

  1. Arrive Early. Stay Late. There is a lot to absorb and adjust to in the new environment. Use the core work hours to attend meetings, get acquainted with staff, and deliver first assignments on time. Arrive an hour early to prepare for the day, meet people while getting coffee in the break room, and read documents to learn policies and routine procedures for your new job.
  2. Prioritize Executive Pain Points. Some of this information should have emerged during the interview process. You were hired to solve these. Get clarity on the top three issues or challenges that your manager needs you to resolve.
  3. Engage Your Team. They have a new manager. They are suspicious of you. Take time to assess how your staff spends their time and energy before rocking the boat with a big change in how work gets done.
  4. Establish camaraderie with peers. You need them to help you learn the ropes, share information, and support your ideas.
  5. Impress stakeholders. Your customers determine your success. Listen to them. Let them know you are here to meet their needs.

--

--

S Munro

An active grandmother. I enjoyed a 35+ year career in IT. I now enjoy a work-optional lifestyle. I have a large collection of community cookbooks.