Is Your Criminal Record Destroying Your Future?

Grant Funk
2 min readApr 10, 2020

It was the middle of summer and I was wearing pressed slacks and a new button up trying not to sweat. It was one of those days where the suns rays hurt it was so hot. Walking into subway, turning in my 4th employment application that day, my face become flush feeling the air conditioning. I could smell the fresh bread as I walked to the counter and asked for the manager. She was a cute red head who gave me a half smile when I handed her my filled out application with my cover letter and resume paper clipped all together. She smiled all the way and said that she would call me. I walked out thinking. Slam dunk, there was no way I wasn’t getting that job.

I just needed a job, ANY Job so I could get some money in my pocket.

Being broke is one of the worst feelings ever. Not being able to feed your self and no clear way of getting on your feet is depressing.

No call for 3 days so I followed up to see if I could schedule an interview for my slam dunk opportunity at sandwich heaven. I was so sure I was getting the job I had even considered starting the conversation with, so when is my first day?

‘I am sorry, we gave that position to someone else due to your background check.’

The discomfort in the pit of my stomach felt so heavy I decided this feeling was going to either make me or break me. Their had to be a way to fix my criminal record.

I was going to expunge my record. I didn’t have any money so I learned everything there was to know about Expungements.

Unfortunately my case was not eligible to be expunged. I wasted sooo much time and energy trying to clear my criminal record that it was almost more depressing and discouraging spending all that time just to find out it wasn’t possible.

I decided to help as many people who were in my position find out if their case was eligible for Expungement

I now am not only employed but I partnered with an attorney and now spend all day helping people fix their criminal records. I wish there was someone like me when I was broke and trying to get on my feet

--

--

Grant Funk

Business Operations Manager at Don’t Talk Legal Center