Magdalen Islands Photography Class

Greg Hemmings
2 min readDec 6, 2016

--

July 18th, 2009 — Magdalen Islands, Quebec

My brother Mark is the photographer of the family; I am the documentary filmmaker. When we were visiting the Magdalene Islands last month, Mark took me to the top of a grand hill that overlooked the water way and sand bar (the Sandy Hook) that almost connects the Magdalen Islands to the only English speaking island; Entry Island. Despite its proximity to Prince Edward Island, The Magdalen Islands are a part of Quebec. This of course means the majority of the population (save for Entry Island) consists of a happy blend of Quebecois and Parisian French. The sandy beaches are some of the best North of the Carolinas, and the wind surfing, kite surfing, and sailing can not be topped in my opinion. I recently purchased the Nikon D90 digital SLR camera. Having a quality camera has inspired me to take photos non-stop. Mark showed me some photographic tips that might that changed the way I take pictures. The best part of this story is that as I am entering the world of photography, Mark is entering the world of filmmaking. Two weeks ago, his most recent film called “Japan” won viewers choice award at the Prince Edward Island International Film Festival. I reckon I ought to start taking some award-winning photos sooner, rather than later!

Photo credit: Mark Hemmings

--

--

Greg Hemmings

This is my blog of adventures and insights as a positive social impact filmpreneur.