Introducing Benkyou: a swipe flashcard app for learning Japanese.

Rafael Mendiola
2 min readDec 29, 2018

--

I’m pretty excited that I got to meet one of my goals for 2018 🎉! Today I’m releasing Benkyou, a swipe flashcard application for learning Japanese. Use it with your WaniKani subscription to study WaniKani lessons.

You can get it here:
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=fm.raf.benkyou
iOS: coming soon!

It currently requires a full WaniKani subscription to use.

The back-story.

I’ve been studying Japanese for a while, and last December I took the JLPT N3 with friends. When I was preparing, I was introduced to WaniKani as an excellent resource for learning Japanese vocabulary. WaniKani is a spaced repetition learning tool that only lets you study at an appropriate pace.

But at the time, we really needed to cram at a faster pace. Flashcards are also more my thing than typing on a screen. I really wanted something that fit my style of studying. I noticed that WaniKani has an API, and at the time I was learning how to use gestures in React Native, so I started building something:

At the time I was really into making apps for just my friends. But enough people have asked me to release this app that I made it one of my goals of 2018.

Functionality.

What it does:

  • Enter your WaniKani API key to access all lessons.
  • Study radicals, kanji, vocabulary.
  • Study in chunks of 20, 10, or 5 cards at a time.
  • After a set, you can study just the cards you got wrong.

What it doesn’t do:

  • You can’t use this app with a free WaniKani subscription. You need a full subscription.
  • This doesn’t do your WaniKani reviews for you. Use it as preparation for the reviews.
  • It doesn’t use a spaced-repetition-system (SRS). You’re in charge of your own study pace.

Future plans.

Eventually, I’m hoping to add more Japanese learning resources to this app:

  • The ability to create your own card sets.
  • The ability to practice typing using Flick Input
  • Introduce NHK NEWS WEB EASY content and extract flashcards from their articles.
  • Add a dictionary and the ability to create your own card sets from that.
  • Reminders to register for the JLPT.

Hope it helps you with your Japanese studies. If you try it out and have any feedback, shoot me an email at rmendiola@alum.mit.edu

--

--

Rafael Mendiola

Startup survivor, drinker of the MIT firehose. React Native developer. geosocial.io is my startup dream. If at first you don’t succeed, sudo bang bang.