How to Stop Playing The Victim in Your Life

Learn to silence the voice of self-pity

Gustavo Razzetti
Fearless Culture

--

Don’t give me that look. Play another part. Pic by https://unsplash.com/@matthewhenry

“I never saw a wild thing sorry for itself. A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself.” ― D.H. Lawrence

It took me over 30 years to forget what my father did to me.

My teenage memories are blurred. But the angst and the pain are not. “Why is this happening to me?” — I asked myself every day. I was a victim. At least, that’s what I felt.

When things don’t go our way, we blame others.

Life is not fair. It’s not unfair either. Life just is. It took me a lot of pain and time to realize that. And to get over it and become in charge of my life.

Through time, I realized my father did nothing to me. Maybe he didn’t love me, didn’t care about me, or just wasn’t present when I needed him. I suffered because of what I expected not because of what he did.

I learned the lesson. We can accept reality and adapt to it. Or we can live in denial. What happens, happens. It doesn’t happen to you. That’s the difference between having ownership of our lives or pity for ourselves.

Self-Pity Is A…

--

--

Gustavo Razzetti
Fearless Culture

For latest stories, subscribe: https://gustavorazzetti.substack.com I help teams have courageous conversations. Author of Remote, Not Distant