KICKDRUM INTERVIEW EXPERIENCE(ON-CAMPUS)

HARSH MISHRA
9 min readOct 7, 2023

--

Choose Kickdrum for an unbeatable on-campus interview experience to get ahead in your career. Don’t miss this chance to impress potential employers with your skills.

ABOUT KICKDRUM

Kickdrum, an enterprise-grade software development company, is setting a new standard in the world of technology solutions. With a team of experienced engineers, architects, and strategists, Kickdrum offers a wide range of services, including custom software development, enterprise consulting, and product engineering.

Kickdrum is a decade-old software product engineering and technology advisory firm based in Austin, Texas with a dedicated engineering center in Bangalore, India. Kickdrum’s enterprise-grade engineers, architects, and strategists have transformed businesses at over 100 Fortune 500 companies. Kickdrum partners with customers to build products from concept to value realization. Kickdrum is also a strategic partner to private equity firms and the executives of leading companies. Since 2018, Kickdrum has assessed over $12B worth of transactions and provided advisory services throughout the transaction, from complex cloud migrations to strategic organizational hiring. Kickdrum’s team sets a high bar for software development quality and product ownership. Kickdrum grows future technology leaders and entrepreneurs.

At Kickdrum, a design-driven philosophy is at the core of everything we do. We believe that technology should be not only functional but also beautiful and user-friendly. We are passionate about creating solutions that not only meet our client’s needs but also exceed their expectations.

Kickdrum is a trusted partner to investors and their portfolio companies, playing a pivotal role throughout the entire business lifecycle, from diligent pre-transaction assessments to seamless divestiture strategies. With keen insights and strategic planning, we craft bespoke technology strategies that drive revenue growth, optimize profits, and ultimately enhance the overall value of enterprises.

Kickdrum visited our campus in August 2023 and selected two computer science students, including me. They also selected one student from my neighbouring college. Based on my LinkedIn network, I learned that they selected one to four students from each college. This is my interview experience.

Kickdrum Software Developer Internship Overview

  • Role: Software Developer
  • Internship Period: 6 months
  • Stipend: Rs 35,000 per month
  • CTC: Rs 16 LPA
  • Job Location: Bengaluru
  • Eligibility Criteria: B.E.B.Tech — CS/IS with 80% and above in academics throughout, no backlogs, Batch 2024 Only
  • Joining Date: January 2024, This is a 6 months Internship + Full-time role

Summary

Kickdrum is a leading software product engineering and technology advisory firm offering a 6-month internship with a full-time opportunity to talented and motivated software developers. The internship provides a stipend of Rs 35,000 per month and a CTC of Rs 16 LPA. The internship is open to B.E.B.Tech — CS/IS students with 80% and above in academics throughout and no backlogs. The internship will commence in January 2024.

Disclaimer: This article is based on my personal experience and what I learned from my seniors. It may not fully represent the experience of all candidates.

1. Shortlisting Process

The Kickdrum on-campus drive started with an extensive shortlisting process, considering around 136 students who met the eligibility criteria of above 80% throughout the academics. The first step required shortlisted candidates to fill out a registration form and submit a video answering three important questions:

Three Important Questions for Kickdrum Internship Video

The Kickdrum internship video application process requires candidates to answer three important questions in a three-minute video:

  1. What sparked your interest in software development?
  2. What have you learned outside of college?
  3. Talk to us about a significant challenge you faced and how you overcame it.

Video Uploading Process

To upload your video, simply visit the Kickdrum internship website and follow the instructions provided. You can upload a video from your computer or from a video-sharing platform such as YouTube or Vimeo.

Tips for Answering the Three Important Questions

When answering the three important questions in your video, be sure to:

  • Be honest and authentic. Share your personal story and experiences in a way that is genuine and relatable.
  • Be specific. Provide specific examples and details to support your answers.
  • Be concise. Remember that you have only three minutes to respond to all three questions, so make sure to focus on the most important points.

Here are some additional tips for answering each question:

Question 1: When answering the first question, be sure to focus on your passion for software development and why you are interested in a career at Kickdrum specifically. You can also talk about your skills and experience, and how they would be a valuable asset to the company.

Question 2: When answering the second question, think about a time when you learned something valuable outside of the classroom. This could be something you learned from a job, an internship, a volunteer experience, or even a personal challenge. Be sure to explain what you learned and how it has made you a better person and professional.

Question 3: When answering the third question, choose a challenge that you faced and overcame. This could be a personal challenge, an academic challenge, or a professional challenge. Be sure to explain the challenge you faced, the steps you took to overcome it, and what you learned from the experience.

By following these tips, you can create a video that will help you stand out from other candidates and impress the Kickdrum HR team.

Be prepared to answer questions about your video during your cultural round interview.

2. Round 1: Online Assessment

The online assessment consisted of 17 questions, including two medium-difficulty data structures and algorithms (DSA) questions. The MCQs covered topics like Object-Oriented Programming, Database Management Systems, and various data structures. The successful completion of this round led to the selection of 10 students for the next phase.

My Experience

I was asked 17 questions in Round 1, two of which were DSA questions. The DSA questions were medium difficulty and had to be solved in C++ or Java. The MCQs were pure language fundamentals and output questions.

I was able to complete all of the questions in the allotted time and was pleased with my performance. I was also happy to learn that I was one of the 10 students selected for the next phase of the interview process.

3. Round 2: Technical Interview(in-person)

The technical interview was the most challenging round of the interview process, but it was also the most rewarding. It was an opportunity for me to showcase my problem-solving skills and technical knowledge to the interviewer.

The interview began with a brief introduction from me and some general questions about my resume, such as my choice of programming language for DSA. The interviewer then proceeded to ask me two DSA questions:

  1. Advanced version of n-queens problem
  2. Subarray question of xor

I was able to explain the approach to both questions and solve them in a timely manner. I also answered a few follow-up questions from the interviewer.

Then, the interviewer asked me a few open-ended questions, including an advanced version of the tapping rainwater problem with various variations and corner cases. I was able to successfully answer all of his questions. He was impressed with my approach to the problem and my ability to solve it efficiently. He also asked me to code the solution in my IDE, which I was able to do without any errors.

Next, the interviewer asked me about my projects. I talked about a full-stack website project that I had built, and the interviewer was impressed with my technical skills and knowledge and my projects. He asked me to draw a low-level system design for the website, and I was able to do so effectively.

Finally, I was asked an open-ended question about how I would set up a pizza shop with five branches to maximize profit. I shared my business model with the interviewer, and he was very impressed. He said that I had a deep understanding of the restaurant industry and that my business model was well-thought-out.

Overall, I am proud of my performance in the technical interview. I felt that I was able to demonstrate my problem-solving skills, technical knowledge, and business acumen to the interviewer. I am also grateful for the opportunity to have participated in the Kickdrum internship interview process.

4. Round 3: Cultural Round

After successfully clearing the technical round, I was thrilled to be invited to the cultural round. The director and HR manager interviewed me together.

The director began by telling me how much he was impressed with my preparation strategy for the interview process. He also mentioned that he was aware of my preparation level and source. He then asked me to relax and be myself, as he had been observing me since the technical round.

The interview proceeded with a series of questions about my video interview, my views on ethical issues, my hobbies, current affairs, and business analytics. The director also asked me to pitch my project idea to the HR manager, as if she were a potential investor. I was pleased to learn that she was interested in investing in my idea, and she was very impressed by my pitch.

The director then asked me about my father’s medical business and how I would use technology to improve it. I explained my business model to him, and both he and the HR manager were impressed. They also asked about other business ideas and my strategies for them.

The director also asked me about my automobile sketching skills and my fitness routine, as they were mentioned in my hobbies. He asked me why I give so much importance to fitness and other hobbies.

The director concluded the interview by asking me a few more questions about my expectations from the company and the three adjectives my friends would use to describe me. He also asked me a few technical questions about my Python project.

At the end of the interview, the director expressed his admiration for my performance and told me that, in his 30 years of experience, he had never seen someone so well prepared for an interview. He said that mine was the best interview he had ever taken.

I was immensely happy and proud to receive such a compliment from the director. The cultural round was a challenging but rewarding experience, and I am grateful for the opportunity to have participated in it.

Conclusion

I am confident that I have the skills and knowledge necessary to be successful in the Kickdrum internship program. I am eager to learn more about the company, the work I would be doing, and the team of talented engineers I would be working with. I am also excited about the opportunity to contribute to the development of innovative technology solutions.

I believe that my strong problem-solving skills, technical knowledge, and business acumen would make me a valuable asset to the Kickdrum team. I am eager to learn and grow, and I am confident that I can make a significant contribution to the company’s mission.

My performance in the cultural round highlighted my passion for software engineering, my business acumen, and my ability to think on my feet. I am confident that these qualities would make me a valuable asset to the Kickdrum team, and I am eager to contribute to the company’s mission.

Final Verdict — Selected 🎉

Kickdrum is a very good company to start with, as it is known for its work culture and learning opportunities. According to my seniors, Kickdrum offers a great chance to learn and grow, and they will teach you many tech tools to make you a professional full-stack developer.

The 6-month internship (Kickdrum University) will make you push your limits and will be like a roller coaster ride. It will be very tough and there will be a lot of pressure, but if you make it through, you will reach your best version. I know it is not easy, but I am really excited to join this journey.

Since my friends have also taken exams for other companies, I have knowledge about some other companies like Harman, Betsol, Accenture, Bosch, etc.

Here is the link of repo with some of the previous kickdrum interview questions:

https://github.com/HARSHMISHRA-521/JAVA-WITH-DSA-/tree/main/CG00_MISCLLENEOUS

I would be glad to help anyone who has any questions about Kickdrum or other tech companies.

Here is the link of my senior’s Kickdrum interview experience of 2022 batch : https://medium.com/@atarax/kickdrum-interview-experience-on-campus-45f6108a770e

Some Resources for Interview Preparation

  • Last Moment OS/DBMS/CN revision

Take you forward: https://takeuforward.org/interviews/must-do-questions-for-dbms-cn-os-interviews-sde-core-sheet/

Interview Bit: https://www.interviewbit.com/dbms-interview-questions/ || https://www.interviewbit.com/operating-system-interview-questions/

  • OOP’S

Tutorial
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLV8vIYTIdSnZS5yc9gt70dDaB_EYE2E_4
For Theory
https://beginnersbook.com/2017/08/cpp-oops-concepts/ (Java oops available )
Notes
https://www.linkedin.com/posts/arpit-singh-83a369159_object-oriented-programming-ugcPost-6839450175614857216-AxZ7 (Recently found these on linkedin)

  • Some resources to practice SQL queries:

https://leetcode.com/problemset/database/ || https://www.hackerrank.com/domains/sql?filters%5Bstatus%5D%5B%5D=unsolved&badge_type=sql

  • System Design

Source to study : https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLMCXHnjXnTnvo6alSjVkgxV-VH6EPyvoX || Educative.io || GFG

Additional comments:

I think it’s great that you’re excited about the Kickdrum internship program. It sounds like a challenging but rewarding experience, and I’m sure you’ll learn a lot. I also appreciate that you’re willing to help others learn about tech companies. That’s a very kind and generous offer.

I wish you all the best in your internship and future career!

Thanks for Reading. Kindly follow me for more such articles and if you find my content valuable. Happy Coding :)

Harsh Mishra on Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mishraharsh-hmc/
Harsh Mishra on Github :
https://github.com/HARSHMISHRA-521

--

--

HARSH MISHRA

SDE Intern @SECUREU || TA @Apna College || ex-SDE Intern @ KICKDRUM INDIA