Who does DICE?

We’re introducing you to the people behind the app 🙌

Matthew Kent
3 min readOct 18, 2019
Laia Vila, Fan Support Agent

If you’re in Spain and already using DICE, Laia is the person you want to get in touch with if you have any questions about the app, the gig you’re going or if you just wanna send us memes. FYI – she’s got great tips about obscure European cities you should check out too.

How did you come to work at DICE?

I only started working for DICE 4 months ago. One day, out of the blue, Gemma knocked on my door (not literally) and asked me if I would be interested in joining the DICE family — the answer? Hell, yes! Looks like having an updated LinkedIn profile DOES work.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m setting up Fan Support for Spain, which involves working with and learning from the Fan Support team in London, as well as liaising with the rest of the Spanish team, who are based in Barcelona.

What was the first gig you went to?

Bunbury, an old rock legend. At the time, I was around 14, which wasn’t his usual target audience. His band, Héroes del Silencio, were in their prime during the 80s, when I was just a twinkle in my parents’ eyes…

You’re in the Kapten to the afterparty and you’re on the Bluetooth. The pressure is REAL. What track are you gonna play?

If I’m on my way to an afterparty I’m probably in Spain and it’s probably around 5 am. Everyone I’m with would know what needs to be played: Flying Free. My friends and I have been listening to this song at pre-parties and afterparties for as long as I can remember — I even sang it at my friend’s wedding! It’s the anthem of the iconic hardcore/techno club Pont Aeri, which was a thing from 1992 to 2012. It makes anyone want to go wild even on the dullest day.

Which gig on DICE should everyone go to?

Well… we’ve got Primavera Sound! That’s always a safe bet, even before knowing the line up.

Biggest achievement within DICE?

If you can read the app and website in Spanish, that’s because I’ve translated them. We have some very exciting projects on the way (did I mention Primavera??) and I’m making sure all the content and comms are adapted for the new market.

What’s your most annoying office habit?

Calling people by the wrong name (isn’t that right Suzi, I mean, Izzy?).

Tell us something about you that no one else would know already…

I travelled around Taiwan for 15 days with my choir and I was in a band supporting Jamie Cullum.

Best thing about working here?

I can’t not mention free breakfast, but I shouldn’t let my stomach answer this one for me. The trust bestowed upon me from day 1 is priceless; let’s just hope I don’t lose my MacBook.

Bonus fact?

When I was a teenager I got into poetry and there’s actually an edited poetry book containing some of my poems.

👊 We’re DICE.

🔮 Check out current job openings here.

📲 Download the app.

--

--