The Rise of Unmade Beds: 2 Reasons Why You Should Join In

Experts Say Leaving Your Bed Unmade Can Boost Your Health

Heather Hintze
3 min readMay 5, 2023
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Do you dread the thought of making your bed every morning?

Growing up, many of us were told by our parents or teachers that making our bed in the morning was an important part of starting our day off right.

I was required to make my bed neatly every morning before going off to school.

Naval Admiral William McRaven reinforced this advice in his 2014 commencement address.

“If you make your bed every morning you will have accomplished the first task of the day. It will give you a small sense of pride, and it will encourage you to do another task and another and another. By the end of the day, that one task completed will have turned into many tasks completed.”

Guess what? You don’t need to make your bed to start the day off right.

For the past several years, I have been intentionally unmaking my bed in the morning.

While a made bed might look neat and tidy, there are some surprising benefits to leaving it unmade that you might not be aware of.

Helps Kill Dust Mites

Dust mites are microscopic creatures that feed on dead skin cells and thrive in warm, moist environments.

I was going to put in a photo of dust mites, but they can be creepy looking, and I don’t want to freak anyone out.

Making your bed traps moisture and increases the temperature, creating the perfect breeding ground for them.

Dr. Stephen Pretlove conducted a study that found that dust mites can contribute to a variety of health problems, including allergies, asthma, and eczema.

As Dr. Stephen Pretlove told the BBC, “We know that mites can only survive by taking in water from the atmosphere using small glands on the outside of their body. Something as simple as leaving a bed unmade during the day can remove moisture from the sheets and mattress so the mites will dehydrate and eventually die.”

By leaving your bed unmade, you allow the moisture to evaporate and the dust mites to die off, reducing your risk of allergies and respiratory issues.

Extend The Lifespan of Your Mattress and Sheets

By leaving your bed unmade, you allow for better airflow throughout the mattress and sheets.

This can help reduce the amount of moisture that gets trapped in the bed by reducing the growth of bacteria, mold, mildew, and odors, helping to extend the lifespan of your sheets and mattress.

How I Unmake My Bed Everyday

I wake up every morning and fold the blanket over the bed footboard, so it is neatly laid it out, and that the mattress sheet and mattress can air out. I fluff my pillows and place them on my storage chest that is in front of the window.

I leave the bed unmade from the time I wake until I get home from work, where I will then put the pillows back in place and pull the blanket up, for a quick and neat bed to go to sleep in later that night.

Conclusion

By reducing the growth of dust mites and extending the lifespan of your mattress and sheets, leaving your bed unmade may have a positive impact on health.

If you’re looking for a way to simplify your morning routine and improve your sleep, leaving your bed unmade may be worth a try.

Do you make your bed in the morning? or Are you like me and don’t make your bed? I would love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for reading.

Enjoy my writing? Join my email list.

Not yet a Medium member? Sign up here**

**If you sign up using my link, I’ll earn a small commission at no cost to you.

--

--

Heather Hintze

Writer & IT Professional sharing my knowledge to help you. IT Tips, personal development, travel tips & more. |She/Her| https://hhintze.ck.page/newsletter