Editor’s Letter: Nikki Garcia

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hachette Book Group
2 min readMar 15, 2016

I love asking my coworkers about their path to publishing. Every story is so different, but the reason is usually the same. “I love books!”

I wish I had discovered this career during college, but it would be a while before I had that “duh” palm to forehead moment.

I studied photography, but when I graduated, I couldn’t afford a camera. I just didn’t think far ahead enough to realize all the money and equipment that would be needed to get started as a photographer. Ultimately, it was a good learning experience because I realized something important. I didn’t want to be a starving artist. Having grown up with parents who struggled to make ends meet, there was nothing glamorous to me about worrying about my next paycheck.

So during a few attempts at professions that felt more stable, I came across the movie The Proposal starring Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds. That’s right! I discovered publishing through a romantic comedy. I remember watching the movie, and thinking, “Is this real? Does this job really exist?”

After doing some research, I learned more about the industry, and decided to pursue this career. Fast forward through an internship, some time spent as the Hachette floater, and eventually finding a home at Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, I now get to enjoy my work as an assistant editor.

I’m really glad to have experienced the twists and turns that have brought me here, and I’m grateful for my love of silly romantic comedies because it helped me. I wish publishing would become more of an obvious option in college in the same way that law and medical is. Now and in the future, it is so important for creative individuals with a love of reading to find this great industry and make their mark on it.

Nikki Garcia is the Assistant Editor at Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

--

--

Hachette Book Group

Hachette Book Group (HBG) is a leading trade publisher based in New York and a division of Hachette Livre, the third-largest publisher in the world.