Social media is killing you

M. Haisham Harees
6 min readMay 12, 2024

If you google “How social media affects your life” these are the common things you will find.

  1. Anxiety
  2. Cyberbullying
  3. FOMO
  4. Phone addiction

But in reality, it does more damage than that on a life-threatening level. Like:

  1. Brain fog
  2. Distract you from your goals
  3. Destroys your peace of mind (especially if you are a keyboard warrior)
  4. Information overload which leads to mental fatigue, numbness, and loss of clarity
  5. Procrastination
  6. Unintentional living.
  7. Promotes disinformation more than information.

In short, it turns you into a zombie where the big billion social media companies have more control over your life than you.

Among social media, Instagram is the worst.

So today I uninstalled it for the third time in my life.

I realized it’s heavily impacting my mental health after long hours of exposure to controversial and political content. I would spend a huge chunk of my life-fighting in the comment sections to prove to random strangers that my idea and worldview is the truth.

--

--