Mental Health Matters
2 min readSep 5, 2020

--

Ask yourself, are you genuinely happy?

To tell you the truth I can’t remember the last time I felt genuine happiness. Of course I’ve had happy moments where I’ve laughed uncontrollably and smiled until it hurts but there’s always this numbness and sadness I feel which is dimming the light. It’s left me wondering is it just me that experiences it?

It could be the sunniest day, I could be surrounded by all the people I love, eating my favourite foods and nothing. I wait for that overwhelming feeling of happiness to take over my body.. But, it doesn’t come. Is it because I feel I don’t deserve happiness or because I’m just not capable of it?

Over the last few years I’ve been searching for happiness and I can’t tell you I’ve come any closer. I’ve taken myself out of my comfort zone in the hope to discover new feelings I thought I was incapable of. I’ve made myself do more rather than moping around on the sofa ( even though the whole time I’m wishing to be on the sofa!) and no such luck.

I look around me and I’m constantly seeing happy smiling faces and I wonder are these people truly happy? Or are they like me, and feel mediocre happiness in that moment but are actually in a deeply unhappy place a lot of the time. I find it hard to contemplate that someone could just be happy and nothing else.

So tell me, have you ever felt genuine happiness? What’s the secret?

--

--

Mental Health Matters

Here to discuss all things mental health. Lets discuss, lets open up, lets be honest.